1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Nexus failed to flash a new ROM.. now stuck in Recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dan330, Jun 16, 2014.

  1. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,493
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,493
    4,007
    1,143
    I have a Grouper... rooted running Dirty AOK on 4.2 Android.
    Recovery TWRP 2.4.1.0

    downloaded ZenonHD v4.4.2 on android 4.4.2
    [ROM][Linaro-4.8] XenonHD-4.4.2 Build 7 (23.05.14) - xda-developers
    I downloaded it.. and put it on the Nexus.

    booted in to recovery
    wiped cache and dalvik
    flashed the new ROM..
    it failed... cant get it to finish the flash/install

    so.. now it only boots into recovery.
    I tried to mount it to my laptop.. so I can put on a nandroid backup or a new ROM.
    but it would fail mounting.

    I tried to mount it to a Flashdrive using a cable.
    it started "updating Partiton details".. but stuck.
    rebooted and connected to my Laptop.
    tried to mount.. still "updating Partition details".. for over 1 hr.

    so.. I guess what I need.. is how do I get some new ROM files onto this device.. so that I can flash a fix?
    thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Did you do a full wipe 422 isn't the same as 4.4.2. Sounds like u need to put a working ROM or stock to get out of recovery .
     
    dan330 likes this.
  3. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,493
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,493
    4,007
    1,143
    if I do a full wipe.. I will loose all files on they internal memory (no SD card). so the new ROM file will be gone.

    of course at this point.... it would not hurt to try that.. and see it if will "mount" on to the Laptop. so I can move a new file onto the device.

    I just want to see if there are any other suggestions.
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,255
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,255
    40,005
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Can you push the rom to the sdcard partition in fastboot mode using adb?
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  5. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,493
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,493
    4,007
    1,143
    well... I am not very adapt at adb commands.
    I know that I adb on my laptop to root my S3. but that was just following the instructions.

    if I knew the commands to push the file over.
    can you link me to the right thread???

    thanks
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,255
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,255
    40,005
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I just walked someone through it here. ....

    http://androidforums.com/nexus-4/852378-cant-connect-pc.html#post6602110
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,255
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,255
    40,005
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    This is for TWRP 2.6 and the Amazon Kindle, but it's the same process.

     
  8. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    I would advise updating twrp to the latest version because I do remember there being some flashing issues in the infancy of 4.4.x I think the latest version is 2.7.1.x.

    Wiping data in twrp will still leave user data intact. When using the newer versions of twrp, if you click wipe and select custom, you'll notice that there's separate options for wipe data and internal. Wiping internal will wipe everything out, but wiping data will not. Therefore you should wipe data, cache, and dalvik.

    To at least get things running, I would download the factory image from google, extract the compressed file and the zip file, and flash the bootloader, system, boot, and cache partitions to your device though fastboot. Do not flash the recovery (since you'll have updated twrp) or the userdata partition (will wipe out all your user data). Once this is done, download them rom and gapps that you want and flash with the updated twrp.
     
  9. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Hey guys, I've moved you over to the N7 (2012) all-things-root area.

    Hope you're back up and running, Dan! :thumbup: :)
     
    D-U-R-X, lunatic59 and jhawkkw like this.
  10. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    As jhawk says, you have to update twrp to flash kitkat.
    Don't you have any backup or rom zip on the device you can use to make it boot?
     
  11. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,493
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,493
    4,007
    1,143
    nope.. I don't have anything on the device I can use.

    that is why I need to "mount" it.
    I am going to try a full wipe tonight.. see it will take me back to last working OS..
     
    scary alien likes this.
  12. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,493
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,493
    4,007
    1,143
    ok guys..

    while in recovery.. factory reset it. it did not help.
    then I wiped the system. think it should get rid of the bad ROM. that did not help

    it can not mount.
    and it looks like I don't have SDK or right drivers loaded.

    in Device Manger..
    my Grouper shows up with and "!" next to it. where can I find the right drivers to load? I have a windows 8 laptop.

    and is this the right location for the SDK tool:
    Android SDK | Android Developers
     
  13. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,255
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,255
    40,005
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    The link I provided earlier to another thread has the link for the minimal add fast boot plus drivers that should work.
     
  14. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Hey Dan any joy mate?
    Guessing you don't have OTG?

    the resets/system wipe you did would never have helped bro. Now. You just have a completely empty tablet lol.
    Fixable though.
    I was in a similar situation the other day and as everyone knows I hate PCs so was dreading using it.
    I don't consider myself a full noob but I flashed a rom for my phone on the tab lol. Basically it wiped the WHORE data partition leaving me with no roms or backups to fall back on.... Really strangely though it didn't wipe system which is usually the first thing a new rom does so I was safe, it booted but had lost root which was easy to fix (off topic but can anyone explains what happened? )
    So I'm about to go online and buy an OTG ADAPTER :beer:
    Good luck Dan. I'm not a PC guy but one of the genius like Scary or Loony will get you up n running :beer:
     
    dan330 and scary alien like this.
  15. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    Hook goes looking for the WHORE data partition thinking he must have missed something. Probably some new XDA mod, and only for Grouper... :rolleyes: ;)
     
  16. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    You're actually really lucky you didn't end up with a hard brick in that situation. Different chipsets often have different partition layouts which often result in the rom or kernel flashing over your bootloader.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  17. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,493
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,493
    4,007
    1,143
    i do have an OTG cable (3 of them).

    I tried to "mount" a Flashdrive to it.
    this used to work in the past.

    but since the failed flash of the new ROM.. it will not mount anything... PC or OTC w/flashdrive. (flashdrive was tested and works fine)

    is there another way to connect the Device to a Flashdrive.. using an OTG cable from Recovery mode?
     
  18. DimBulb

    DimBulb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    Dec 31, 2012
    350
    105
    68
    Minnesota

    Just a stab in the dark, I haven't seen any mention of Wugs, or Nexus 7 Toolkit in this thread so far.

    And I know in those, (haven't used) side-loading as possible method to push also is possible.

    And, for the sake of additional idea's, Galaxy2, (Yea I know it's not a tablet) is responsive to ODIN, through USB, when everything else won't work on that device. Maybe it would help to try, before giving up hope?

    One more,our own Scary Alien, developed Android Root Toolkit available free on the Playstore, can work it's own wonders restoring root, and keeping root for the Nexus7, when all hope was lost for me, (different problem), still good to know.
     
    dan330 and scary alien like this.
  19. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,255
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,255
    40,005
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    As far as toolkits go, I do believe that the Nexus specific toolkits were replaced with the Android Unified Toolkit. It might be worth a go to push the latest TWRP to your phone, Dan.
     
    dan330, DimBulb and scary alien like this.
  20. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    Replace might be too strong a word, at least with reference to WUG's toolkit, which I rally do feel is best for pure Nexus devices. Haven't tried AUT, and I'm sure it is fine and covers a much wider array of devices.
     
  21. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,255
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,255
    40,005
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I was only referring to skipsoft's Nexus Toolkit, not all of them (including WUG's which a different animal). Sorry for the confusion.
     
    Hook likes this.
  22. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    651
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    No problem. It was probably my fuzzy-headedness rather than your being unclear. ;)
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  23. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    I know too well bro thought it was a gonner

    Just find it weird that the script didn't fomat system but did data lol.
    Oh well, lesson learned. Don't use one device to download a rom, send it to the other and forget to wipe the original :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...