1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Nexus One data plan

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JeepWK2, May 17, 2011.

  1. JeepWK2

    JeepWK2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    33
    3
    36
    If I put a sim card from an iPhone 4 into a nexus one, will it change my data plan?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mostly Harmless

    Mostly Harmless Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    1,523
    264
    163
    Engineer
    New York
  3. safeplayer22

    safeplayer22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    109
    11
    48
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Maybe I dont know much about the iphone4, but i thought the sim card is smaller in size?

    but it should not change your data plan.
     
  4. Dolmangar

    Dolmangar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    257
    14
    38
    Rational Tools Consultant
    DC Metro Area - USA
    I think you are correct about the SIM size. But they are compatible, you just have to put the mini-SIM into an adapter/spacer to hold it over the contacts and it will work.
     
  5. JeepWK2

    JeepWK2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    33
    3
    36
    Yeah, the SIM is smaller. But I made an adapter to use with the Nexus.
     
  6. safeplayer22

    safeplayer22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    109
    11
    48
    Brooklyn, NYC
    oh ok. Then it will not change your data plan, but remember that for AT&T, you have to make sure you have the AT&T N1 in order to get the 3g data connection. If you have the t-mobile version of the N1, then you will only be able to get 2g.
     
  7. Dolmangar

    Dolmangar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    257
    14
    38
    Rational Tools Consultant
    DC Metro Area - USA
    Bingo. I did this when I bought my N1 before the AT&T version was released. I just swapped my SIM over from my Treo 650 and ran the Nexus on Edge data for a few months. I eventually switched over to T-Mobile for 3G.

    For regular email, contacts and calendar sync Edge works just fine. The only time you'll really notice it is on web and cloud based apps. You're not going to stream Netflix on Edge.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...