1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Nexus One has Hidden Wireless N

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by inspiron41, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. inspiron41

    inspiron41 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    199
    22
    38

    Advertisement

  2. QrafTee

    QrafTee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,123
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    I could've sworn we have always known it had a 802.11n radio... I guess it is finally being used?
     
  3. DVNO

    DVNO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    91
    8
    16
    Chicago
    This is huge, i will finally be able to connect at home.
     
  4. antikryst

    antikryst Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    38
    1
    16
    hopefully they can unlock a built in wireless FM transmitter to connect the N1 music player to a radio. that would be cool! 1 less accessory down and an instant connection to any car anytime.
     
  5. hipocrazy

    hipocrazy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    72
    6
    16
    I'm confused. What exactly does this do? I already browse wifi at home.
     
    Roze likes this.
  6. martinl1030

    martinl1030 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    18
    2
    16
    781
    youre most likely on wireless G. wireless N is newer and faster
     
    hipocrazy likes this.
  7. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    This is seriously good news. What is it with all these phones with chips capable of better things being limited? Is it time restrictions on release dates for getting the phones out before implementing all their features?

    I look forward to using my full N speeds on my Nexus One at home soon :D
     
  8. smitty24

    smitty24 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009

    Mar 5, 2009
    252
    3
    36
    Florida
  9. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    This might sound kind of noobish...but how is the wireless N band different from WIFI..I mean both access the router/modem wirlessly right? o_O
     
  10. mindfrost82

    mindfrost82 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    With Wifi you have A, B, G, and N. They all basically offer different speeds. N is the newest/fastest and G is the next. Its basically a standard called 802.11n.
     
  11. |mpulse

    |mpulse Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    59
    5
    16
    For more info.
     
  12. inspiron41

    inspiron41 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    199
    22
    38


    as i understand N has a boarder reach and also faster than G. correct me if i'm wrong.
     
  13. RAND0M1ZER

    RAND0M1ZER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    94
    6
    16
    Toronto
    Correct. Although you can only use N with a compatible wireless router.
     
  14. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    The Nexus has had 802.11n (2.5Ghz) since launch. This is not new, it was even on the spec list for a while.
     
  15. QrafTee

    QrafTee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,123
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    That's what I'm saying, right? Like we always knew it was there so it was never "hidden," maybe unused.
     
  16. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Not even unused, it's always been there and enabled. Just guess a lot of people didn't realise.
     
  17. smitty24

    smitty24 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009

    Mar 5, 2009
    252
    3
    36
    Florida
  18. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    People have been using the N1 on N only routers since release, it's always been working.
     
  19. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    So...how would one go about using the N router on the N1? Do you need to be rooted?
     
  20. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Don't have to do anything, just connect.
     
  21. DVNO

    DVNO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    91
    8
    16
    Chicago
    Then is there a reason why i cannot connect at home with my N-router? I have no problem at work and girlfriends house with G. Any ideas?
     
  22. QrafTee

    QrafTee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,123
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    As a standard N-routers have to be backward compatible with G-devices so... it's probably a setting.
     
  23. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    So how would I be able to tell if my WIFI is from the N router? I tried to look under WIFI in settings but can't find the info.
     
  24. kevinnem

    kevinnem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    15
    0
    35
    Just for teh record, wireless "N" will not really show any speed inprovment of the internet, compared to wireless "g"...

    The reason for this is that the internet conection to the "out side" world is likely only 1 or 2% as fast as the wireless conection.

    so basicly, you can use 2% of the bandwidth, or .2% of the bandwidth - at the end of the day it is not WIRELESS connection that is the limit.
     
  25. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    HUH? :thinking: I'm slow with tech terms like these >_> so...if there's no difference in speed from the router to wireless N or wireless G...why all the big bloody hype from every android/phone sites?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...