• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Nexus One Limitations?

feelyat

Lurker
Jan 15, 2010
First, an introduction -- I am a smartphone newbie. I've always had ordinary "phone" phones, and they've done OK by me. Recently, I've come to the realization that I could use a lot of the tools available in a modern smartphone, and Android (the concept) really appeals to me.

I'm on Sprint, so I picked up a Sprint HTC Hero for a brief time last year. I gave it a week, but was really unhappy about three things:

1. Weak vibrate ringer
  2. Inaccurate keyboard
  3. Clumsy phone UI

I almost never have my phone set to anything other than vibrate. I like the fact that I can quietly ignore an incoming call or text that rings in my pocket. When the Hero was set to vibrate, I could never feel it.

The keyboard inaccuracy was driving me crazy. I kept mis-hitting keys on the on-screen keyboard, including in the phone dialer. I don't have any problems typing on a friend's iPhone, in either keyboard orientation.

The phone UI was frustrating for me. Specifically, hanging up a call. Whenever I was talking on the phone, the screen would go to sleep (saving battery, all good stuff). Then, when I was done, I needed to wake up the phone, unlock the screen, and hang up. Three actions. Very annoying, especially in the car. In the past (and currently) I used a flip phone, which had a single action to hang up -- close the phone.

OK, now to the Nexus One question. I'm still excited about Android, and the N1 appears to be a great Android phone. Being that it's an HTC device with a very similar form factor to the Sprint Hero, I'm concerned that my Hero annoyances will be there on the N1.

Can anyone who has a Nexus One speak to my concerns?