1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Nexus Prime...LTE on board?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sean76, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    My one question is this...Will this phone be an LTE device?

    What concerns me is how thin it is, and with it being that thin how will they fit an LTE radio inside?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Don S

    Don S Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    629
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    629
    180
    93
    Male
    Bayville, NJ USA
    Yes
     
  3. ISASoilder

    ISASoilder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    213
    26
    43
    College, Work
    Washington D.C
    If they pull an Apple it will be the biggest upset in Android history, Just think 1st ICS stuck on Strugglin 3G SMH, So yes it will/better have LTE!!!
     
  4. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    Yea alot of LTE speculation! However I just look down at my Bionic and say..WTF! This thing is pretty thick, as was my Charge and TB! That prime looks insanely thin, just wondering how there gonna fit the chip in if it is LTE, as well as a decent battery?
     
  5. the7nd

    the7nd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    In Google We Trust.

    Everyone has been saying that it will be in the large bump at the bottom device. Sounds like a good prediction to me.
     
  6. ItIsLikeThat

    ItIsLikeThat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011

    Oct 6, 2011
    45
    47
    23
    Let's think logically here.

    Google has introduced all the Nexii devices on T-Mobile so far. They have pumped $$$$ into fiber to towns to see how big bandwidth/low latency will transform a city. Perhaps they want to try ICS on something that can show off what it can do? I mean, 4.3" or 4.6", gorgeous display, dual processor with an OS built for it....all it needs is content. The only reason to go to Verizon would be LTE...otherwise you are better off with T-Mo and ATT HSDPA if you just have VZW 3g.

    Additionally there has been plenty of time to fab new silicon since the t-bolt, charge, etc... were designed and produced. If they are launching this device to be the halo device for ICS, then why hamstring it on verizon's 3g only? The idea is for it to hit and make positive waves...and then release on other carriers.
     
  7. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US


    i have the same concern. Especially seeing pics of the Vigor and how it still looks really thick to be HTC's 2nd 4G phone...you would think they would've figured a way to make it smaller.

    But wasn't there pics of the South Korean SGS2 with LTE that leaked out and they were also thin as well ?
     
  8. r4yN

    r4yN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011

    Sep 18, 2011
    266
    205
    68
    Germany
    yeah but the other hardware specs seem to be quite wrong...

    i mean OMAP 4460? we all know this SoC has issues and won't be avaiable until 2012... also it would be clocked at 1.5GHz and not at the here mentioned 1.2GHz

    only 1750mA? you must be kidding... 2000mA should be minimum, the phone has an 4,65" 720p Amoled screen and features a dual-core-soc (im thinking about the exynos 4212)... this needs way more power than actual smartphones... and smartphones today already have abut 1750mA...

    come on, i can't believe this specs..
     
  9. Sandroidfan

    Sandroidfan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    2,150
    483
    163
    Male
    Engineer
    Central TX
    Where did you get OMAP 4460 won't be available until 2012? Only Archos tablet will be delayed due to shortage of this SoC, probably due to Nexus Prime.

    1.2Ghz, 1750mAh is slightly disappointing to me as well, but it's not too shabby. But it's coming from BGR. My confidence in their accuracy got damaged when they said iPhone5 will be Sprint exclusive just a day before Apple event this week. So there is still hope for 1.5Ghz, 1800+mAh I guess.
     
    r4yN likes this.
  10. redraider1

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,532
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    1,532
    195
    143
    thick compared to what? The iphone or sgs2? Really the phones arent that thick and if that is a problem for you then wait until 2nd gen chips come out so they can be paper thin. I dont understand why everyone always complains this phone is so thick blah blah blah. They aren't really that thick at all.
     
  11. redraider1

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,532
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    1,532
    195
    143
    Actually all TI said was that they wouldnt be taking anymore orders for the 4460 atm. Most likely google and samsung bought out a large chunk of these and that is why the delay for that processor in other products. Also no phone other than the sgs2 has larger battery than 1750. Just saying
     
  12. redraider1

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,532
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    1,532
    195
    143
    you have to take into account htc never really was one to make super thin phones. That was always samsung and apple's territory
     
  13. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC

    What i'm saying Redddd is that going from the Thickness of the current LTE phones, to the thinness of how this new Nexus looks in that picture is pretty drastic to say the least...im not saying...omg, these LTE phones are 3 inches thick, I'm saying wow how are they gonna fit the current crop of LTE chips in this new Nexus. Ya dig...
     
  14. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC

    Personally I really like the size, weight, and thinness, of at&t's Galaxy S2...
     
  15. redraider1

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,532
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    1,532
    195
    143
    It's samsung and i mean look at the korean sgs2 lte version they got in and kept it pretty thin. I think the charge was something they weren't planning on making it super thin and just wanted to get it out which is why it is already being replaced.
     
  16. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC

    Yea, the Charge has become the forgotten phone...lol! Patiently waiting for my Prime!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...