1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

General Nexus S 4g unlock question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dmbfan13, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. dmbfan13

    dmbfan13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    57
    2
    16
    Not sure if anyone knows the answer to my question yet, but, would it be possible to unlock the Nexus S 4G to be used on Verizon? I understand you wouldnt get 4G, but would 3G still work considering they're both CDMA.

    Just curious!
     

    Advertisement

  2. StarMenace

    StarMenace Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    290
    18
    58
    I would assume that it would be unlocked out of the box if it's a Nexus phone unless Google changed that now.
     
  3. dmbfan13

    dmbfan13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    57
    2
    16
    That is true!! So would it be possible to switch to a Verizon number?
     
  4. bucketheadmn

    bucketheadmn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    163
    14
    58
    Saint Paul, MN
    Chances are not very good. Unlike GSM where you can just plug in a SIM card, on CDMA you need to activate by the ESN number. I highly doubt that Verizon will allow a Nexus to be activated on their network - from my understanding you can not do it with any other phones now, so why the Nexus S 4G?
     
  5. CrazyTechnoBoy

    CrazyTechnoBoy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    677
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    677
    123
    113
    Male
    Denver, Colorado
    I think it would be allowed. Because since the Evo is also sold as unlocked, why would it be limited to only some CDMA carriers? But don't take my word for it, I may be wrong.
     
  6. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #143
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    Aren't like... the radio bands slightly different for Verizon and Sprint phones? Meaning... you know... it wouldn't work quite right?


    That's what I'm assuming. Kind of like how the OG Nexus that was on Tmobile was usable on AT&T, but you only had EDGE. I'm guessing you'd be able to USE the Nexus S on Verizon, but you'd only have 1x speeds. Not 3g, let alone 4g. Sprint is Wi-Max, Verizon being LTE.
     
  7. lafester

    lafester Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    387
    88
    53
    No the phones are 100% compatible with all cdma carriers that I know of.
    this does not apply to 4g however. voice and 3g work fine.

    you just need to get the esn/meid in the system and configure data settings.

    sprint and verizon will absolutely never add an esn/meid into their system.
     
  8. professoroffruit

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    15
    3
    16
    Ohio
    Yes you would be able to use it with 3G speed just fine. When you roam now with your phone, you are roaming on other 3G CDMA carriers like verizon. The only thing that you can't do when roaming on 3G is use Sprits apps like TV and Sprint Nav. So if Verizon would not lock you out, which would be hard to do, you could use it on Verizon right out of the box.
     
  9. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    its possible, as long as you dont mind esn swapping which blurs a bit of a legality line
     
  10. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    You should not need to ESN swap.
    I have no idea why cdma providers are such jerks with their phone activations. this is why its a stupid mostly american technology. I couldn't even activate my paid for evo on virgin mobile and its 100% sprint.
     
  11. thangcoo

    thangcoo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Did you manage to unlock the phone and use it with Verizon?
     
  12. RENORHYMES

    RENORHYMES Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Is it true that the Nexus 4g is unlocked by factory?? Does it come like that??? My Nexus 4g was from Canada and it has a sim unlike the Sprint one that doesn't!!! well if anyone could answer my question i would appreciate it! :)
    PS: want to unlock it for T-Mobile or AT&T!!!
     
  13. RENORHYMES

    RENORHYMES Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    :thinking:Is it true that the Nexus 4g is unlocked by factory?? Does it come like that??? My Nexus 4g was from Canada and it has a sim unlike the Sprint one that doesn't!!! well if anyone could answer my question i would appreciate it! :)
    PS: want to unlock it for T-Mobile or AT&T!!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...