1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Nexus s boot animation without computer

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by weddle, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. weddle

    weddle Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    368
    34
    63
    Male
    independent subcontractor
    PA
    Can someone explain to me how to change my boot animation to the nexus s one (in layman's terms) without using a computer? I've looked and I couldn't really find a way with a good explanation. Plus I'm rushing before I have to go to work. Please excuse my nubbness and thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    If your rooted then put the bootanimation zip on the root of your sd card (this means to put it near the bottom of the list of file folders on the sd card,not in any of the folders) . Then use a file manager like SuperManager and go to system,then media. In the media folder you will find the current bootanimation. Delete this,then copy and paste the bootanimation zip to the same place the one you deleted was. Done.

    If your not rooted you will have to use your computer and ROMTools.
     
    weddle likes this.
  3. weddle

    weddle Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    368
    34
    63
    Male
    independent subcontractor
    PA
    Alright cool. I'm at work atm but ill get on that when I get home. I assume I should search xda for the animation itself? And yeah, I'm rooted with xiona recovery and backside 8-31 build
     
  4. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Just make sure it's compatible with the "V". Also you might google UOT Kitchen. Select the how to use kitchen first. After that tutorial go and see what bootanimations they have in the kithen.
     
  5. weddle

    weddle Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    368
    34
    63
    Male
    independent subcontractor
    PA
    I found the nexus 1 animation I want to use, but when I try to change what kind of rom it is (like switching from the SENSE rom to the cm7 rom in the dropdown bow in bootanimations) it wont register that I selected cm7..or any of the others besides sense for that matter -_-

    Does the kitchen not work with mobile?


    EDIT:: Got it to work. Just waiting for it to be cooked up! Lol. Thanks again guys
     
  6. yogi-4

    yogi-4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    263
    82
    53
    Truck Driver
    Steeler Country
    You can go here as well. You can also get 'Boot animation Changer lite' from the market. It already comes preloaded with some cool ones.
     
    AndyOpie150 and weddle like this.
  7. weddle

    weddle Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    368
    34
    63
    Male
    independent subcontractor
    PA
    -_-'

    so I put the boot file on the root of the SD card then copied it to system/media (after deleting the old boot animation) and now I have a blank boot screen.. I have no idea what I did wrong...
     
  8. weddle

    weddle Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    368
    34
    63
    Male
    independent subcontractor
    PA
    I tried redownloading the file on my other SD card and got it into system/media. If I leave it what the file is originally named it gives me the stock android boot screen. But when I rename it "bootanimation.zip" it changes to a blank boot screen.

    Any help???
     
  9. yogi-4

    yogi-4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    263
    82
    53
    Truck Driver
    Steeler Country
    If your using Windows to rename the boot amination, if you right clik and clik 'rename' just type 'bootanimation'. Not 'bootanimation.zip'. That's a common mistake of which I'm guilty of.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...