1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Nexus S problems and introduction

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rambokill, May 30, 2011.

  1. Rambokill

    Rambokill Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    I am gonna buy a nexus s in 3 months so I searched for some problems and saw many problems with gps and would like to know if they fixed them.Also I would be happy to learn more about this phone like issues hardware ease of use and stuff like that.Thank you.Please respond.
     

    Advertisement

  2. B2L

    B2L Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,833
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    1,833
    658
    233
    Salt Lake City, UT
    I don't know what you have heard about the gps mine works perfectly fine. The only issue I would worry about is random reboots but most people aren't getting those anymore. It happens a few times a week for me but I like to tweak things.
     
  3. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    I haven't had any issues with mine. GPS works fine. Any issues I do have I usually attribute to the alpha builds of CM7 that I use.

    If you are thinking of buying one in 3 months (September timeframe) I would consider waiting a couple extra months until the next Nexus is released and the AT&T / T-mobile merger stuff is finalized. Just my opinion.


    Oh, and welcome to the forum!!
     
  4. Rambokill

    Rambokill Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    The problem is that I wont be having so much money for the next nexus.Also the problem with the reboots has been fixed with fw 2.3.4 I think

    2.3.4 didn't really fix it for me even when i am not tweaking things. My fiancee still gets reboots occasionally as well and she is on 2.3.4.
     
  5. dhend25

    dhend25 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011


    Fortunately, I've had no reboots since upgrading to 2.3.4.

    dh
     
  6. Rambokill

    Rambokill Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    Any other important things I should know before I buy it.
     
  7. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    I was on v2.3.3 out of the box and never experienced a random reboot. I'm on v2.3.4 now and it's just as stable as a rock like before. If you experience reboots, it's probably hardware related, perhaps poor heatsinking for the CPU/chipset?
     
  8. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,111
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    My phone has not rebooted since 2.3.4 install.
     
  9. StarMenace

    StarMenace Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    290
    18
    58
    I personally have never had any issues with the reboots. The GPS works great however there only a few complaints I have with the GPS: 1) The voice is too robotic, 2) It can sometimes take up to a minute or two to lock onto the location, and 3) It sometimes is about 10-15 feet behind on the location. I wish it had a 32GB option as well, or at least a MicroSD slot. Other than that it has been a perfect phone.
     
  10. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    That is the TTS voice on all Android phones. If you want to change it download SVOX, then choose whatever voice you want to use. Personally I use this voice
     
  11. Rambokill

    Rambokill Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    I heard that nexus is using google maps and stuff like that.Does this mean that I have to have access to internet or is there agps.Also does it shoot 720p video now?
     
  12. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    Not sure what you mean. Every Android phone uses google maps. You just have to decide whether or not you want to use it, it is just like any other app. It does have agps, but that has nothing to do with data.
     
  13. Rambokill

    Rambokill Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    so it doesnt require access to the internet with google maps cause it is already having the data on it.
     
  14. quantumrand

    quantumrand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    1,237
    198
    143

    Google maps is a cloud service, meaning you need an internet connection to download map data on the fly. As of somewhat recently, it is possible to use google maps for turn by turn directions without a data connection while driving to an extent. It can cache the directions at the beginning of the trip (such as while you have a wifi connection) and continue giving directions once the connection is lost; however, I don't know how long it can cache the data for or what might happen if you take a wrong turn and it needs to reroute.

    There are GPS apps that download all of the map data to your phone so that you don't need a data connection while driving though.

    One other small problem is that smartphones use AGPS, which uses your data connection to download current satellite location tables (and time tables since relativity is a major factor given their orbiting speeds). I'm not sure how effective the GPS will be without data at least at some point during the trip.
     
  15. Rambokill

    Rambokill Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    thanks for the reply.Can it shoot 720p video now?
     
  16. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    Even with older versions of Maps/Navigation data is not needed if you never veer off the initial routing. Data was only needed for re-routing info. With the more recent versions, some of the routing info is cached on the phone so data may not be needed for minor deviations from the initial route plan. But for large deviations or changes to the destination, a data connection of some kind (3G or wifi) is still required.
     
  17. Rambokill

    Rambokill Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    What is the difference between the sprint version and tmobile version.My previous phone had problems with signal strength and I don't wanna have a phone with bad signal strength.Is the signal strength good?
     
  18. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    I am not sure what the difference is other than different cell radios, but my t-mobile one is great with reception
     
  19. Rambokill

    Rambokill Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    Can it shoot 720p video now or in the near future?
     
  20. Rambokill

    Rambokill Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    I ve searched a little bit for signal strength problems and saw to many threads about pour signal strength on 4g.Also I would have bought it from ebay so I cant sent it to a sprint shop because there is not a single store in my country.
     
  21. nothappyontari

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I wouldn't worry about the GPS being an issue, mine was fine. What you have to be concerned about if you're purchasing the Nexus S, is the voice search bug that has crippled many, many Nexus S phones to the point that 3G is not usable, thereby making any app requiring 3G service basically useless....
    I think anyone considering the Nexus S should read the posts on the following forum before taking a gamble on this phone:
    Nexus s Voice search major problem - Google Mobile Help
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...