1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips nifty trick: screenshot without root!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pantlesspenguin, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    649
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    649
    107
    113
    Female
    Overland Park, KS
    Press home key then at the same time press power button :).
     

    Advertisement

    cyriene, charssun, exile1975 and 15 others like this.
  2. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Ah...I thought you were going to post about making a shorcut to the com.lge.util...screencapture utility.
     
  3. nodrogkam

    nodrogkam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    158
    11
    38
    Student/IT
    San Franciscio, CA
    FINALLY! that's something the iphone did better than most any other device on the mass market.
     
  4. wmm

    wmm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    284
    30
    43
    Yeah, this is pretty handy. I've used it a couple of times over the last day or so when I first saw the tip posted on xda-developers. Thanks for sharing it here.
     
  5. OutstandingO

    OutstandingO Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    Co-sign on the thanks. This is really handy.
     
  6. aquaitious

    aquaitious Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    263
    43
    43
    Boston, MA
    I just saw this on Engadget, freaking awesome! Such a nice feature. Start posting your homescreens. :D
     
  7. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
  8. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    649
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    649
    107
    113
    Female
    Overland Park, KS
    I already returned the phone, but here was my last screenshot.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. caldon12

    caldon12 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    14
    3
    16

    Hi, which Calender are you using?
     
  10. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    We are "both" using Smooth Calendar. I just have the background and icon hidden.
     
  11. caldon12

    caldon12 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    14
    3
    16
    Thank you!!
     
  12. BklynEnigma

    BklynEnigma Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    45
    0
    15
    T-Mobile
    Deleted the photo in PB. Sorry =/
     
  13. LunchBB

    LunchBB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    570
    70
    78
    BklynEnigma, nice screen. which time/weather widget is it?
     
  14. BklynEnigma

    BklynEnigma Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    45
    0
    15
    T-Mobile
    Thank you. =]

    It's "3D Digital Weather Clock" - Free on the Marketplace.
     
  15. jwaitetran

    jwaitetran Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    hey i cant get it to work for some reason.. can someone help?@!?
     
  16. wmm

    wmm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    284
    30
    43
    Hmm, I don't know -- it "just works" for me: I touch the home button and then, just a split second later, I press the power button, the screen flashes and there's a shutter-click sound, and the screen shot is saved in /sdcard/CapturedImages with the filename being the date and time.

    What were you doing when you tried it? Did you try it on the home screen, or were you running an application? What happened when you did it?
     
  17. aquaitious

    aquaitious Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    263
    43
    43
    Boston, MA
    You should remove the Browser icon from the home screen, that way you can get another more useful app in there, since the browser is on every bottom of the screen next to the app drawer. ;)
     
    BklynEnigma likes this.
  18. BklynEnigma

    BklynEnigma Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    45
    0
    15
    T-Mobile
    Haha...I just realized that. A stupid oversight on my part lol. Thanks to you, I removed it and added an e-mail widget for my job. :) Thanks.
     
  19. Crustacean

    Crustacean Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    [​IMG]
    pretty basic, but it suits me well.
     
  20. Gordo96

    Gordo96 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    2
    0
    25
    Here's what I have. Thanks to pantlesspenguin for posting this and BklynEnigma for the clock widget tip.

    *edited for better picture*
     

    Attached Files:

  21. leetramp

    leetramp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    Teacher
    Berkeley,CA
    Doesn't work for me on a Galaxy Tab with Verizon. I push home, then power and the screen turns off.
     
    WhiteGirl1Fan likes this.
  22. wmm

    wmm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    284
    30
    43
    Yes, as far as I know, this is a special capability that was added by LG and not available in other manufacturers' products.
     
  23. FloridaBoi

    FloridaBoi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Own a video game console repair store and cell pho
    Tampa
  24. YouNoAsian

    YouNoAsian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    49
    2
    16
  25. BklynEnigma

    BklynEnigma Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    45
    0
    15
    T-Mobile
    These are my 2 screens...
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I'm using LauncherPro as my UI, 3D Digital Weather Clock as the weather/clock widget, and on the widget screen in order I am using Dazzle Configurable Switcher, Rhapsody, Uber Music, and Livescores.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...