1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Nightlies Vs. RC1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jwpilly, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    232
    30
    43
    St. Louis
    I had the 8/13 nightly running for a couple of days and the performance was beautiful. Since I have been using RC1 it feels a bit more jerkier. And that is with a full system wipe and Jit both enabled and disabled. Anyone else notice any difference between this and the last couple of nightlies?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jxr94

    jxr94 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    210
    12
    38
    In my experience the RC was just as good as the 8/15 nightly which was smoother than the 8/13 build.
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I've flashed 810-815 and the RC1 is amazingly fast. I do have jit enabled and oc'ed at 768. Have you flashed the overclock zip? Has done wonders for me;)
     
  4. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    232
    30
    43
    St. Louis
    I'll give it a shot. I did enable jit, but it made it even jerkier than before. Maybe it just needs sometime to settle in.
     
  5. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    There are 2 that I have flashed, overclockfix and the uncapped kernal for CM6, just flashed the second one [Kernel] UncappedKernel for CM6 {GPL} - xda-developers

    Just flashed 817
     
  6. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    So u can flash the nighties over the RC1? because I think that the rc1 is slower than the nighties I had before
     
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Yes, wipe davlik cache and cache
     
  8. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    Thanks a lot, I'm gonna try it right now
     
  9. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    138
    5
    36
    Austin
    i had 812, then went to RC1. now i'm on 817 with a wipe. really the only thing i'm not getting that i'd like is for the trackball notification to work. LED works but if i try to set it to white, nada. on RC1 it would work in the test, but on 817, won't even work in test for me. that, and there seems to be some weirdness with notification sounds not playing at times, that i'm pretty sure i've seen reported by others.
     
  10. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    Is anyone's "email" app that comes preloaded not working? I tried adding my yahoo main but it always tells me my user name or password is incorrect, so I had to download a yahoo mail app from the market as a workaround. Also can some explain to me how overclock works? I think that if I stick with the RC1 and just overclock it I may be ok but I'm not sure...
     
  11. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    Is there a link to the nightly?
     
  12. stay_clean

    stay_clean Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    67
    8
    16
    asiangolfer likes this.
  13. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    I thought nightlies don't need to wipe?
     
  14. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Need to wipe davlik cache and cache, then flash. Don't need to wipe data
     
  15. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Have you flashed either uncapped or overclockfix? If not, you won't be able to overclock above 691
     
  16. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    I'm using rom manager and I don't know if it gives me that option
     
  17. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    Do you have the links to the overclock uncapped? Also do you use email other than gmail and are you able to use the preinstalled email app? (or anyone for that matter). Its driving me insane using that yahoo app. Also what kind of data speeds is everyone getting? (speedtest.net)
     
  18. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    I cann wipe data and cache, but not sure off where to go to wipe cache davlik
     
  19. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Explain, don't understand
     
  20. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    [Kernel] UncappedKernel for CM6 {GPL} - xda-developers

    I only use gmail, but I will try to use my home email and try, will let you know. Speedtest: 1100,700 roughly
     
  21. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    It says that of I want to install ne wrom I have t wipe data and cache....or not at all. Let me try not wiping
     
  22. ROB281

    ROB281 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    145
    20
    38
    yahoo's not working for me either, but that's not an issue
     
  23. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you want to flash a new nightly, this is how you do it in rom manager: NANDROID first as always:) Download the new nightly. Make sure you have current clockworkmod recovery. Then reboot into recovery, wipe cache partition, go to advanced and press wipe davlik cache. Press back, go to apply zip, scroll down to downloads and press downloads, you should see the specific nightly you want to flash (ie: cm_heroc-08142010...) Press yes, you want to apply. It will open and apply package. Once its finished, press back and reboot phone

    Let me know how it goes, if you are not sure let us know. But ALWAYS, NANDROID, NANDROID, NANDROID first before you do something:)
     
  24. asiangolfer

    asiangolfer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    did it! no wipe!! so where can i go to check the differences between 817 and 815?
     
  25. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you are talking about changelogs, there are no changelogs for the nightlies
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...