1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Nils Business Gingersense 3.0 & OTA Gingerbread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ckali7, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. ckali7

    ckali7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    124
    8
    36
    Nils,
    Will you be using the newly released OTA to "tweak" your latest NBGS 3.0??
     

    Advertisement

  2. _mw_

    _mw_ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    I don't mean to speak for him, but yes it would seem he has every intention to. We just have to give him some time. ;)
     
  3. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    206
    48
    43
    IT Security
    Near Albany, NY

    +1

    Seeing what I can use like the kernel and possible other libs and bins. Nothing from a Sense perspective is any help since it is version 1.0
     
    NightAngel79, _mw_ and iowabowtech like this.
  4. ckali7

    ckali7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    124
    8
    36

    Nilse,
    Do you think the Sense 3.0 will be more efficient than 1.0 with this ROM??
    Can you take the 3.0 part of Gingersense and put it together with the official OTA to make one big ball of Nil's awesomeness !!!!
     
  5. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    206
    48
    43
    IT Security
    Near Albany, NY
    It is almost impossible to lay 3.0 Sense on top of 1.0. Just too many moving parts. Maybe some day.

    The approach now is to take the good 2.3.4 GB Incredible specific stuff and use it on the 3.0 ROM's
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  6. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,759
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,759
    8,937
    1,453
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Can't wait for that too happen (well I can of course:))

    Gingersense 3.0 is the only reason I will end up rooting my phone. Heard its awesome
     
  7. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    206
    48
    43
    IT Security
    Near Albany, NY
    I just released version 2.0 which is an upgraded framework from EVO 3D (2.3.4), some parts from OTA and carried over the good stuff from v1.6. 3g is solid, MMS when on WiFi is 100% and some other stuff.

    Although there will be a 2.1 version for some minor tweaks as people use it I am pretty happy with it.
     
    _mw_ and NightAngel79 like this.
  8. zman0125

    zman0125 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    3
    6
    I just installed v2.0 last night and i love it!
     
  9. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,759
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,759
    8,937
    1,453
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Awesome to hear NilsE!

    Was looking through xda (so hard for me to surf effectively there for some reason) and its hard to make sense of things. Saw some good roms (3.0 sense ones) but the 'does not work' were things like; wifi, camera, etc... <-- that I can't live with. Its the reason I gave up flashing when I left the omnia.

    The lure of sense 3.0 is too enticing though and from what I hear you have the BEST, most bug free roms period.

    Thanks for all the great work player. Gonna bite the bullet soon and root:)
     
  10. kylebarendrick

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    48
    29
    23
    Program Manager
    Northern California
    I'm looking for someone to get TVOUT to work. I tried installing the LIB and APK from the leak but that didn't do the trick. I never used it often, but it is nice to have when I travel.
     
  11. zman0125

    zman0125 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    3
    6
    If I flash the update (v2.1) will I still have all the setting and apps I have at the moment or will i have to re setup everything?
     
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Thanks for that. Gotta tell you though man, one thing I REALLY hate is the Google app backup feature in setup. Even though I check the box to NOT backup, it always starts restoring my apps anyway. This takes for-freakin-ever to complete. I would really much rather use Titanium. Anyway, just one minor complaint.
     
  13. mumfoau

    mumfoau Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    121
    9
    36
    Male
    Manufacturing Engineer
    Nils makes a GREAT ROM!!! I rooted a little over a month ago and started with CM7 Nightlies then went to SkyRaider. I found Gingersense and disabled Perflock and I've been in ROM heaven ever 'sEnse' !! :D

    Great work!!!
     
  14. bmo21

    bmo21 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    30
    7
    16
    Just took the dive into this rom, (been using the 2.1/3.0 hybrid and loving it.) So far to me it actually seems faster and very stable. Just wanted to say great job and thanks. One thing I noticed and do miss is the dancing android when the phone rings but that is something very minor and aesthetics only. Friends actually enved that when they saw my phone ring.
     
  15. answerman

    answerman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    285
    46
    63
    Appleton, WI
    I finally took the custom ROM plunge... been running Nils' Business Gingersense 3.0 for about 24 hours now.

    I've had my Incredible since day 0 (one day prerelease) and it's been rooted as long as root has been available, but other than using ejhart's HydraKernels I've always stuck to running the stock ROMs (Eclair which came with it, then Froyo when it became available last fall). I'm no stranger to custom ROMs, used to cook them myself back in the days of my HTC 6800 and Touch Pro, but never with Android till now.

    Obviously, I've only had a day to play with it, but Nils' Business Gingersense 3.0 is fabulous so far. All the good stuff, none of the bad stuff. I haven't noticed a single issue with it... battery life seems to project to be about the same as my stock Froyo with a custom undervolted kernel (about 36 hours) which has been my concern with any ROM I considered.

    Admittedly, I'm a lighter user than many, so consider this a comparison to stock rather than a "you'll get fantastic battery life!" sort of thing. I'd say it's equal to or slightly better than stock Froyo. YMMV.

    Oh, and it's pretty snappy, too. Glad I finally took the plunge.
     
  16. jeffgman

    jeffgman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009

    Oct 8, 2009
    139
    18
    38
    Male
    California
    I rooted a couple of weeks ago and have been running the OTA rom by incubus. I am so glad I finally took the plunge too. The phone is running great. I have been thinking of trying out Nils Sense 3 rom. I will probably install it this coming weekend. Out of all the Sense 3 roms, his looks to be the best.

    Jeff
     
  17. _mw_

    _mw_ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    Has anybody else been noticing some wackiness like this? I'm going to do another wipe tonight and start over again to see if it just had a little trouble flashing last time, but I've noticed a few of my widgets are oddly sized... and the record widget in the top left is there as an example, but there's things randomly all over that are cut off, or extend past the bottom of the screen like there's a -20px margin.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    206
    48
    43
    IT Security
    Near Albany, NY
    That should have been fixed in v2.1

    If not let me know and I will fix it in v2.2
     
  19. _mw_

    _mw_ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    I try to keep up with your updates, but I'm just not that competent or efficient Nils! Or aware, for that matter. Downloading it now, I'll let you know!
     

Share This Page

Loading...