1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

No 3G since Friday morning (8/19)

Discussion in 'Virgin Mobile' started by elhamda, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. elhamda

    elhamda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    77
    18
    18
    San Francisco, CA
    I have not had 3G connection since Friday morning. At first there was no 3G signal indication on top of my OV screen. Since Friday afternoon 3G indicator is back, but no connection. Browser as well as other apps like Gmail hang and do not load. Is anyone else experiencing the same issue?
     

    Advertisement

    godsdragon likes this.
  2. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    Some people have reported that using the Activate app a few times will bring back their 3G.

    If after trying this a few times you find that your 3G is still out, you may wish to contact Virgin Mobile.
     
    godsdragon and elhamda like this.
  3. elhamda

    elhamda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    77
    18
    18
    San Francisco, CA
    I tried the Activate app as you suggested. It kicks me to 1X for a short while, then back to 3G. But the result is the same, no connection. Thanks for your help. I will contact VM to see what is going on. I have not had any problems before, so this is unusual for me.
     
  4. elhamda

    elhamda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    77
    18
    18
    San Francisco, CA
    I contacted VM this morning. They had me go through the routine of turning my phone on and off and this and that, which did not work. They finally reset my account from their end by restarting my month. This seemed to do the trick and everything is back to normal. I
     
    godsdragon likes this.
  5. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    The autopay fiasco is the reason why I took it off both my accounts. Mind you, I never had that issue but reading about it on so many different forums made me switch to just purchasing topup cards from CallingMart.

    Unfortunately, losing 3G at the beginning of the billing cycle is not something new to VM. :( Luckily it doesn't happen with everyone.
     
    godsdragon likes this.
  6. elhamda

    elhamda Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    77
    18
    18
    San Francisco, CA
    If it happens again at the end of this month, I will stop the autopay and start using top up cards. It does not make sense to pay $2 more and have the inconvenience of disrupted service on top of it. Thanks for the tip regarding CallingMart.
     
    godsdragon likes this.
  7. godsdragon

    godsdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    449
    22
    38
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    :thinking: I am narrowed down to Virgin's no contract services, I still am going to go thru with switching to VM, thanks for the heads up. I just happen to like their not so top of the line Samsung (I forget which Samsung model)... I was going to go with the Motorola Triumph but got discouraged today at its size and no sliding keyboard... Anyway thanks for letting me "invade" this thread :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...