1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No 4G in Philadelphia/South Jersey?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 3ricG, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. 3ricG

    3ricG Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    215
    9
    36
    Philadelphia
    For the past two days I've into been getting 3G reception in various areas of Philadelphia and Southern New Jersey. Has anyone else been experiencing this? I usually get full 4G in all of these areas. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. slimjoe

    slimjoe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    107
    25
    43
    I've been fine here in central Jersey (according to the maps we're covered under the Philly 4G umbrella and not NYC).
     
  3. robrecht

    robrecht Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    284
    41
    43
    Senior Manager, Scientific Communications (pharmac
    18 Mbps in Princeton (central).
     
  4. 3ricG

    3ricG Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    215
    9
    36
    Philadelphia
    I guess it must be my phone; I'll try restarting it. Is there anything else I could do besides that?
     
  5. robrecht

    robrecht Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    284
    41
    43
    Senior Manager, Scientific Communications (pharmac
    That's the best thing to do, but make sure its a true Restart if you have fat boot enabled. If you're not sure just pull the battery.
     
  6. 3ricG

    3ricG Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    215
    9
    36
    Philadelphia
    I just did a true restart, and im still only getting 3G...
     
  7. 3ricG

    3ricG Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    215
    9
    36
    Philadelphia
    I still have no 4G, does anyone know of any other fixes?
     
  8. robrecht

    robrecht Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    284
    41
    43
    Senior Manager, Scientific Communications (pharmac
    Call Verizon Technical Support. They will probably require you to do a hard reset and may want to replace your SIM card first, but ultimately they will replace your phone.
     
  9. 3ricG

    3ricG Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    215
    9
    36
    Philadelphia
    Okay, I was able to fix it. I pulled my SIM card out, and put it back in a few times, then switched my phone to CDMA (auto) PRL then to CDMA + LTE/EvDo (auto).
     
  10. Sevreth

    Sevreth Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    I've noticed a lot of 3g / 4g switching today. I normally have a solid 3-4 bars 4g here at work all day.

    (south east pa)

    -Sev
     
  11. robrecht

    robrecht Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    284
    41
    43
    Senior Manager, Scientific Communications (pharmac
    Glad to hear that you got it working again. Keep an eye on it, 'though, and if the problem recurs, have Verizon replace the SIM card or phone.
     
  12. swr2000

    swr2000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    93
    4
    16
    What's the code again for the CDMA (auto) PRL? **736?
     
  13. 3ricG

    3ricG Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    215
    9
    36
    Philadelphia
    I dont know the code, I just use tge LTE on/off app
     

Share This Page

Loading...