1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No 4G since the update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmz768, Jul 9, 2011.

  1. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    I applied the update last night just before going to bed. Upon waking this morning, I found that I'm stuck in 3G with occasional loss of all data connection.

    Could be a coincidence but since I've had no connectivity problems in quite a while, I'm thinking it's related to the update.

    Anybody else having issues?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Settings>Wireless & Networks>Mobile Networks (Set options)>Set Network Mode> Make sure LTE/CDMA is selected.

    Could just be your local network might be having problems.
     
  3. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    Yeah, that was the first thing I checked. I'm thinking it's just a coincidence at this point since nobody else seems to be having the problem.

    I'm in Plymouth, Michigan if anybody else in the area is having the same problems.
     
  4. gsxrjohnny

    gsxrjohnny Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    I seem to be dropping 3G. I'm outside Los Angeles not in 4G area. Did a battery pull and 3G seems to be holding. Will be in 4G area later, I'll see how that goes.
     
  5. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    Tried a battery pull and no changes to report. :mad:
     
  6. willdogs

    willdogs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    665
    211
    113
    I was having the same issues last night when I updated. The issue has since cleared itself. Not sure why it happened but I am no longer having the issue.
     
  7. seVer

    seVer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    798
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    798
    140
    103
    Unknown. Previous VZW Tech Support for 7 years.
    same as the others- showed 3G after the update. did a power cycle (not a restart, but a full shut off) and it's been fine ever since.
     
  8. bowtie26

    bowtie26 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    I am in the metro Detroit area with a rooted phone and have not updated the radio yet. I have been having data issues all day too.
     
  9. gsxrjohnny

    gsxrjohnny Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    After going in and out of 4G area mine seems to be acting the same as before the update which is: If in LTE mode data connection will be on and off then drop completely regardless of being in 4G or 3G area. In 3G only mode works fine. After update 3G mode seems faster and GPS is faster. Tried restart, power off and battery pull with no luck. Will call VZW, but really don't want to get a refurb phone. This phone is a launch day phone which may explain the connection issues. Friend at work got one 2 weeks ago and his works fine, however, he doesn't leave the 4G area.
     
  10. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38

    Thanks for the post, I'm pretty sure it's a local problem not related to the update now.
     
  11. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    Well so much for that. Spoke with technical support today and they are reporting no network problems in my area. He did some things on his end but I'm still stuck in 3G with occasional drops.

    The tech wants me to go to a Verizon store for a new SIM card and he's also sending me a replacement phone in case that doesn't solve the problem.

    His belief is that something was corrupted when the update was installed.
     
  12. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    Just picked up a new sim card and the problems persist. One thing I have noticed is if I set the phone to use 3g only, I keep a rock solid connection.
     
  13. XtremeAaron

    XtremeAaron Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    250
    19
    58
    Male
    Cleveland, Ohio
  14. bowtie26

    bowtie26 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    Still no 4g for me today and intermittent 3g.
     
  15. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    What city are you in?
     
  16. bowtie26

    bowtie26 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    Metro detroit....more specifically sterling heights and warren area.
     
  17. cmhobbz

    cmhobbz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    44
    15
    18
    experiencing the same thing in erie, pa. set mine to cdma only just to maintain a signal. nothing I have tried allows lte to work. although, when set to lte, I have 4g for a few minutes after a reboot. it then becomes 3g with a brief loss of signal shortly after. this continues until I either reboot or change to cdma only.
     
  18. asper911

    asper911 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I'm in Honolulu, HI and we recently have 4G service for most of the island. After the update in 1st week of July 2011, my 4G connection was running fine for awhile. Since about July 9 (saturday) my 4G completely dropped and I've been getting intermitten at best 3G service. This Thunderbolt seems like a never ending story.

    I can say that ever since I've had 4G service majority of the time, the random reboot issue disappeared even before the recent update.
     
  19. thewisdomtooth

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I'm in New York, NY. Ran the update (because i haven't been getting 4G in a few days), ran the update, did all the rebooting/shutting-off, and no more 4G for me. I'm stuck in 3G.

    FML
     
  20. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    I called tech support today and was put through to the next level of tech support. After not being able to resolve the problem, the tech put in a support ticket saying that it would be sent to the top level support people.

    Apparently they can take up to a week to get to a ticket but according to the tech, if these guys can't fix it, nobody can. Kind of sucks to have to wait so long but hopefully they can resolve it.
     
  21. xeno2011

    xeno2011 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    169
    43
    43
    I initially had this same problem right after the update - No 4G. Did a reboot and it came back on fine, has been working ever since. I just got the Thunderbolt today, however, and it updated itself right after I registered it.
     
  22. thewisdomtooth

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I've had the TB since the first day it was sold. Everything worked great until this last week. All of a sudden no more 4G. Going in for a replacement phone this weekend.
     
  23. bowtie26

    bowtie26 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    I also bought my phone on launch day. I have been without 4g since Friday. I guess it will be going back.
     
  24. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    My replacement phone arrived today and I decided to give it a try. put in the sim card, turned it on and have a strong 4G signal now. Luckily, the replacement has no light leakage or other problems so I'm going to stick with it. Verizon can try to figure out what happened with my phone when they receive it.
     
  25. gsxrjohnny

    gsxrjohnny Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    Can you tell if it's a refurbished phone? I'm guessing it is.
     

Share This Page

Loading...