1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

no Android SDK box while installing Android studio

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Alexcol, Mar 13, 2019.

  1. Alexcol

    Alexcol Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019

    Mar 13, 2019
    5
    0
    5
    Good evening, i need your help please

    I am a newbie about developing tools, and i am taking a course, and i need to install Android studio, and tutorial recommend the Android SDK and Android Virtual Device boxes be checked , the problem that Android SDK is missing at the moment of installing

    I have unstalled and installed hundred of times, and have no succeed, i have googled and i have heard that has something to do with jdk version, and hundred of theories, and it is driven me crazy.

    because i have 0 experience and developing and installing these tools, i need your help and recomendations please

    what should i do in order he Android SDK be displayed at starting installing Android studio
    can i continue the typical installation and install SDK thereafter?

    i would appreciate your help in advanced
     

    Advertisement

  2. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,751
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    I have java 8 installed on linux, though Android Studio comes bundled with java to make it easier for beginners to install. The installer sets up everything automatically for you.

    The best tutorial to follow would be in the following link which includes both a written and video tutorial for the supported operating systems.
    https://developer.android.com/studio/install
     
    MoodyBlues likes this.
  3. Alexcol

    Alexcol Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019

    Mar 13, 2019
    5
    0
    5
    Thank you very much for your help, i downloaded the latest version for windows but i still faces some troubles:

    1.In the tutorial says: Leave the Android SDK and Android Virtual Device boxes checked because they will be needed later
    The problem when i start my instalation displays 2 boxes: Android studio itself and Virtual Device, but Android SDK box is not displayed

    2 After installing and launch AS there is no wizard to guide me and follow the instructions as a newbie, and select the option:Open an existing project in Android Studio

    3 because there is no wizard,i choose Open an existing project in Android Studio, in the tutorial asks me to walk through the path:
    C:\Users\Pablo Alejandro\Desktop, then i will find a SharingApp icon, but there is no SharingApp icon in this path, there are 2 shrtcuts: eclipse and videos and no more

    The reason is because i started a course: Capstone Assignment 4.1 – Determine the app's information needs, but I am completely stuck

    Thank yoy very much for your help in advanced and thank you for bearing with me as a newbie
     
  4. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,751
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Before importing a project into AS, you should first make sure that AS is installed and working correctly.
    1. To do this you should start a new project.
    2. In the next screen choose Empty Activity.
    3. In the last screen give your project a name.
    4. Language = java
    5. Minimum API level - leave at default
    6. Leave the boxes unchecked and click finish
    If the new project is setup without any errors then all is good and you can proceed with importing a project.
     
  5. Alexcol

    Alexcol Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019

    Mar 13, 2019
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks u again four your support.
    I started step 1 but failed, yileds and error related to SDK is corrupted or out of date

    Your Android SDK is missing, out of date or corrupted

    I clik on the Open SDK Manager botton but it does not make do anything

    I uploades screen errors

    i have no idea whats wrong, but Could u tell me if has something to do with windows license, i just realize is not active
    Thanks four your help in advanced
     

    Attached Files:

  6. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,751
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    You see in the first picture, click the edit button and enter the SDK directory path that you have in the third picture.
     
  7. Alexcol

    Alexcol Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019

    Mar 13, 2019
    5
    0
    5
    OK thank you, i did, now it lets me follow the steps to start a new project. i did not see errors but it warns me the path location should not contain white spaces because its probably i will have problems with NDK tools later on

    So i can proceed with the Capstone course tutorial?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,751
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    The white space it's talking about is probably the space in between "Pablo Alejandro" in the SDK path. It'll probably be OK, I can't say for sure since I don't use windows.

    If the new project was created fine, then you should be able to proceed with the Capstone course. Good luck.
     
  9. Alexcol

    Alexcol Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019

    Mar 13, 2019
    5
    0
    5
    thank you very much again for your support and your patience.
     
  10. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,751
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    You're welcome. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...