1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support no autocapitalize "i" to "I"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jangatang, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. jangatang

    jangatang Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    98
    2
    16
    Student
    California & Kansas
    Just a quick quick question. How do i autocapitalize the word i on my droid x?
     

    Advertisement

  2. JubbaTheHutt

    JubbaTheHutt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    998
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    998
    103
    93
    Funny, I've been wondering the same thing since yesterday when I noticed this in a text I was sending.
     
  3. jbhumph

    jbhumph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    652
    54
    98
    Same here!
     
  4. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,364
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    5,364
    1,055
    333
    NYU Student & Real Estate Agent
    Manhattan, NY
    It doesn't do it automatically. You have to just do Shift + I or... use Swype. :)
     
  5. CombatChuck103

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    46
    1
    16
    Go download Smart Keyboard Pro. Auto caps the I, and the spacebar is wider, so no periods in.place.of spaces. :D
     
  6. focus791

    focus791 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    24
    3
    36
    Licensed Clinical Social Worker, Licensed Clinical
    Raleigh, NC
    Yeah, this keyboard software is not as good as the Droid's. It also oftentimes will not capitalize names, even if added to the user dictionary as capitalized names. It also won't do a period using double space bar after a parenthesis. Lots of little quirks like this I'm noticing since I type emails and texts a lot. Gets annoying after a while. And the swype keyboard is not to my liking, particularly in landscape mode. Swiftkey also sucks imo. Maybe I'll try Smart Keyboard Pro and see how that one does...
     
  7. jangatang

    jangatang Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    98
    2
    16
    Student
    California & Kansas
    Wow so downloading an app is the only way to fix this issue? That's disapointing. There has to be another way!
     
  8. JubbaTheHutt

    JubbaTheHutt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    998
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    998
    103
    93
    Agreed, even though it may seem trivial, you would think Google would have had this on lockdown...I'm a bit surprised to be honest.
     
  9. jamo

    jamo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    310
    39
    43
    Educator
    SC
    It's not Google, they just make Android. All the phone makers skin their keyboards how they want. The Droid keyboard does all the things we're talking about, and it's Android.
     
  10. focus791

    focus791 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    24
    3
    36
    Licensed Clinical Social Worker, Licensed Clinical
    Raleigh, NC
    Well I tried smart keyboard pro and it's laggy. Plus, like swiftkey, it send me a return text indicating that the message was sent as text only, as the receiver doesn't accept enhanced messages. Not sure what that means though... Might be returning the pro keyboard.
     
  11. jbhumph

    jbhumph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    652
    54
    98
    Yeah I really don't want to pay for an app to fix this :(
     
  12. JubbaTheHutt

    JubbaTheHutt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    998
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    998
    103
    93
    So Motorola is responsible for software related issues, in this case the lack of immediate capitalization of "I"?

    So Google just pushes out the OS and the developer is left to code everything else? :thinking:
     
  13. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    I guess we can only hope Froyo will fix the problem. But it's definitely something Motorola has no fix, has nothing to do with Google. Google makes the keyboard that was on the original Droid (with Vanilla), Motorola was nice enough to take that keyboard and modify it to give us true multitouch, they just left out this nice feature.
     
  14. archer

    archer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    17
    2
    16
    The DX comes with two keyboards. The default keyboard does not capitalize the I while the Alternate Swype keyboard does. The Swype keyboard has a lot of features, and to understand them all you should actually go to their website and watch the videos they have made.

    The Swype keyboard really works nice with just a little practice, you can miss letters and the word is still spelled right.You don't have to space between words. After a period it will capitalize the first word. Words that have two capital letters such as McDonald can easily be done with Swype. A lot of punctuation is done for you.

    When proof reading your message you can put the cursor on a word you are not sure about and push the blue Swype key and get a list of different choices. If the choice you want isn't there, the whole world will be automatically selected allowing you to enter a new word if you want.

    It also has a full editing keyboard you get to by pressing the blue Swype key and the key to the right of it at the same time. It has arrow up, down, left, right, end of line and much more.

    The Swype keyboard can by used the old fashioned by pressing 1 key at a time if you prefer ( or if it is a work that Swype most likely would not know - but it can be added to the dictionary).

    It has many settings that can be changed to your liking, such as how often the word suggest should appear.

    Overall I type a lot faster and a whole lot more accurate with Swype.
     
    focus791 likes this.
  15. focus791

    focus791 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    24
    3
    36
    Licensed Clinical Social Worker, Licensed Clinical
    Raleigh, NC
    I'd rather have my original Droid features instead of the multitouch. Maybe it's just me, but the whole multitouch thing seems overrated. I'd rather have the various features we've already mentioned. Although I guess it makes a difference to have multitouch now, since I use it to do shift+i as I type :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...