1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root No Bionic for me... and YOU?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by The_Chief, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    He actually never said that. ;)
     

    Advertisement

  2. JM33

    JM33 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    162
    25
    43
    Maui, HI
    While that may be true now, in 2 years it may not. Applications for android are becoming more and more resource intensive. And really most of these specs we desire are overkill as well. Is 4G necessary for most functions? How about dual core? Or an 8mp camera? Sure they are nice, but if my D1 lacks anything it is most importantly the ram. And again, when you have to bite on a 2 year contract, why get something behind the curve if you know its only a couple of months wait ?
     
  3. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    The feature I'm coveting most is Webtop. I'm someone who could really get use out of it, and the fact that it's going to AT&T drives me sick. I def want the 8mp camera, too, as I don't have my own personal camera. And the Droid's camera is probably it's weakest point.

    But for the Bionic, I can live with 512mb. I see how it works on my g/f's Incredible, and that's more than sufficient. Adding a dual core, it should really fly. Now when the 2.5GHz dual cores come out...just imagine.
     
  4. Tempusfugit

    Tempusfugit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    588
    74
    78
    Where are you getting this information?? I've upgraded multiple XP machines from 1 to 2 GB, and the performance boost is impossible to not notice. Not just in games - windows starts faster and every app loads faster. I've also, for my own tests, wiped an xp machine with 1 gig, installed windows, ran it for a little bit, installed 2nd gig, and again, the speed improvements were immense.. I haven't seen or heard anyone who worked with computers that would recommend less than 2 gigs on any windows machine for any use.

    Anyone who still has 1 gig of ram, please ignore this guy, go buy another stick.. it will be the best 20 bucks you ever spent on your computer.

    And no, 512mb of ram is not any kind of stopping point, or good enough point on a cell phone.. In fact, I have a feeling phones are soon going to need more RAM than computers... they have cameras, GPS, 3g/4g to manage too.
     
  5. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Yeah, no, installing more RAM you won't use doesn't do crap. And what kind of horrible XP installation do you have that uses more than 1GB of RAM? My Windows 7 machine rarely goes above 1GB! My netbook runs Windows 7 perfectly fine. On Win7 I can justify going to 2GB; on XP it's just a stupid way to throw your money down the drain.

    And yes, because cameras, GPS, and radios are always running, and more importantly, actually require significant amounts of memory to run. Of course.
     
  6. Tempusfugit

    Tempusfugit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    588
    74
    78
    Oh XP runs on a gig. It will run "fine." Hell it will run on 64 megs. But 99% of users out there with their current set up of antivirus, firewalls, and 20 other programs running on startup will benefit from going to 2 GB, or more. You think its fine, but when its someone's business computer and their losing money waiting for a huge xls or pdf to load, than 20 bucks to go faster is nothing. You obviously don't use your computer for much, and I'm sure you're getting by without windows crashing or freezing with 1 gig. I work on people's computers every day, and 1 gig isn't enough for most people's computers to run efficiently..
     
  7. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    This is starting to get off topic. lol

    As far as the Bionic goes, I think I can deal with 512mb as opposed to 1gb. It's obvious that the Atrix has it b/c of Webtop, which the Bionic won't be running. Would it be better, sure, but for what this phone is going to be doing, it's likely to be more than adequate. However, I really do wish the Bionic did have Webtop, but I'm not one to jump ship. This time next year, I'm sure we'll have even more options, options with quad cores.
     
  8. vr6dubbin

    vr6dubbin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    174
    3
    36
    As a Droid 1 owner that is obsessed with rooting. Yes, I will be getting a Bionic.

    As far as visuals go, i love the gingerbread theme and am completely fine with having it for the life of the phone. Rooting/"Romming" my phone is great fun, but TBH it get's a little boring. I fell out of the overclocking craze and just run pete's BB with whatever it comes stock. Keeping it minimal is what I like
     
  9. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    >PC gamer who also dual-boots Linux.

    I'm not a granny who likes to send pictures of cats to everyone via AOL.

    I've also been saying from the beginning that PC gamers and those who use other memory-intensive programs like Photoshop, CAD, or video/audio encoding and editing software shouldn't try to get by on 1GB. But for daily-use purposes... well, there's a reason why even netbooks don't come with Windows XP anymore. You can run even Windows 7 smoothly on 1GB of RAM. Does it benefit from 2GB of RAM? Only when the first GB of RAM is already filled up.

    Your post also implies that more memory makes files open faster. Again, maybe this is true if the memory is full and the file has to be opened in swap space.

    Maybe I just don't agree with you because I don't have an antivirus program or firewall (and I'm doing just fine with a periodic full MalwareBytes scan). And just a few startup programs, because I remove all of the ones I don't need from msconfig.
     
  10. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    Well, I still want a Bionic. :cool:
     
  11. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Well at this point for me, it's more a matter of principle and "why would I bend over and take this encrypted bootloader crap from you guys when HTC offers nearly-identical phones that aren't horribly locked down?" So it's a Thunderbolt for me, or any other phone that's not made by Moto. :D
     
  12. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    373
    14
    38
    Motorola doesn't give a crap about the .5% of people who won't buy their new shiny phone because of an encrypted bootloader. 99.5% of consumers will still buy it and that's a legitimate business decision.
     
  13. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    It really isn't a legitimate business decision because that's 0.5% of users that you could include in your product if you just leave the bootloader unencrypted. Look at the OG Droid. There are no reports of anyone truly bricking their phone; it just doesn't happen. There's nothing to be gained and much to be lost from putting in an encrypted bootloader.

    What if they just make it encrypted and give us the key? That way, anyone who does it is doing it knowing full well the "dangers" it presents.
     
  14. dja1980

    dja1980 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    146
    3
    36
    Insurance
    Sycamore, IL
    Motorola Atrix Heading to Verizon Q4 2011 - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum
     
    YankeeDudeL likes this.
  15. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Still unimpressed with the Atrix. Why would I want a smaller screen? For the 1GB memory that will never get used? The fact is that Android won't be optimized to deal with a souped-up phone, it'll be optimized to deal with the mainstream phones out there with 256-512MB of RAM. That extra amount is pointless, just like having 4GB RAM on Win7 is pointless.

    WebTop disgusts me, personally. What a stupid gimmick. If I want to carry around a $300 dock (Engadget says $200 for the Atrix and $500 for the combo with the dock), I'll just get a $300 actual netbook instead that I can actually do stuff with.
     
  16. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager

Share This Page

Loading...