1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root No Car Dock Mod

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by oneobserver, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. oneobserver

    oneobserver Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    IT Consultant
    Hillsboro, OR, USA
    Just purchased a new Facinate and have not rooted it (yet). I also purchased the Car Dock as part of the package, but when I put the phone in the dock, the behavior doesn't change. Screen stays wherever I had it, and it still times out and locks. does the magnet activated sensor for docked mode not exist on this phone? I tried just using a refridgerator magnet on the back of the phone and it doesn't trigger any change in behaviour either. I am new to the OS, so bear with me while I get up to speed. :rolleyes:
     

    Advertisement

  2. oneobserver

    oneobserver Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    IT Consultant
    Hillsboro, OR, USA
    OK. I feel stupid. Turns out I hadn't quite gotten the USB all the way in. It is a bit picky about that.

    Just one wish list on physical design. Since the Verzon Rep's push the silicon or plastic cases and made a good case for it (all puns intended), I which the car dock would expand a bit to allow for it.

    Other than that it fits well. I'll see if I like it after I use it for a few days...
     
  3. sund0wn

    sund0wn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    775
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    775
    175
    93
    I work in an office. It has a window, but it isn't
    In a house, near some mountains.
    i dont verizon sells a car dock for any model that works with a case. something that bugs me about the fascinate is that most micro chargers dont have a snug fit. they charge, but they dont fit all the way in. oh well, i'll live i think.
     
  4. smilepak

    smilepak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    66
    17
    18
    Did you install Launcher Pro or AWD Launcher? That will disable the cardock mode. You have to be using the original Touch Wiz for it to work.
     
  5. oneobserver

    oneobserver Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    IT Consultant
    Hillsboro, OR, USA
    I'm still very much pristine. Only a couple of free tools loaded so far. Still looking and evaluating for best tools. Only one gap so far. My Asterisk system sends VM as WAV files and am not seeing a player that isn't more negative comments than positive...
     
  6. wtherrell

    wtherrell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    371
    34
    43
    North Carolina
    Here's what I did and it works with Launcher Pro as well. Purchased Locale and the Locale Dock Condition plug-in and the Locale Shortcut plugin.
    I set Locale Condition to Car Dock and setting to Shortcut. I then chose Custom Car Home (free on market--you put whatever you want on the screen that launches) as the shortcut. Now, even in LauncherPro whenever I slide in the Dock Connector my custom Car Home dock screen launches beautifully. I have it set to automatically enable bluetooth, GPS, disable WiFi, Screen to max brightness, etc. just by plugging in the dock. Great! The CCH uses nice large icons that are easier to touch than the ones on home screen. You can have 3 screens (select one of them as default) with 8 shortcuts on each. No VZ Nav, Bing, etc. A car dock as it was meant to be!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...