1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support no data problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dugeboi, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. dugeboi

    dugeboi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Male
    Hi all
    I just bought a used galaxy ace that was on koodo and now it is rooted and working with a telus sim card from my old phone.
    everything is working great except i can't get data/3G to work for the life of me. there is also no apn's in the apn list i have tried manually entering telus' apn settings among others and after clicking save im still left with a empty apn list. in status menu i got mobile network state disconnected.

    any help at all would be greatly appreciated
    thanx DuG
     

    Advertisement

  2. dugeboi

    dugeboi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Male
    Just to add some more info I got into the phone info via *#*#4636#*#* menu and it appears the phone is still trying to connect to koodo's data even though im unlocked running a telus sim card with data plan.

    Again any help ......many thanx
    DuG
     
  3. sleezecheeze

    sleezecheeze Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    144
    14
    58
    Male
    Burgerflipper/Student
    Australia
    Is it locked to a certain carrier? You may have to pay an unlock fee to unlock it from the previous carrier. If I were you I'd try a factory reset and then start with the new sim card in. If it doesn't work after that ring the previous carrier and ask them what's going on with it.

    If you're going to factory reset make sure you back up any important data such as contacts stored on the phone and app saves.
     
    dugeboi likes this.
  4. dugeboi

    dugeboi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Male
    Thanks ill give it a go and post my results after
     
  5. dugeboi

    dugeboi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Male
    happy to report problem sloved . when i installed titanium back up it said there was a problem with the "su" part of my root and it was able to fix it. then i went ahead with my back up and clean reset of the phone as sleezecheeze suggested. after re boot i got data icon in status bar for bout split second then gone. so i went into apn settings and lo and behold theres a apn for koodo. so i set up new apn for telus saved it and it actually showed up in the list this time and now works perfect.
    so thank u sleezecheeze for the info.
    -DuG
     

Share This Page

Loading...