1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No GPS signal

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by carpalia, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. carpalia

    carpalia Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Hi,

    Happy new year to all of you :)

    I recently bought a Samsung Galaxy S and upgraded it to froyo. I can't get any GPS signal. I'm sure that the GPS is enabled and I've tried standing still outside for the phone to catch the GPS signals. All my apps using GPS tries to locate satellites with no luck. These apps includes navigation, GPS Tester, Endomondo.

    Currently I have enabled "Use GPS satellites" in my phone settings and disabled "Use wireless networks" and "Use sensor aiding".

    Any suggestions? Could it be a software og hardware problem with my new phone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    For some reason the gps locks a lot faster when you have a internet connection. Do you have a data plan?
     
  3. carpalia

    carpalia Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Yes, I have a dataplan including 20 GB of data and free SMS and MMS. I tried to turn of Wifi, but it didn't help.
     
  4. Hrethgir

    Hrethgir Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,684
    225
    163
    Male
    Intel fab tech
    Salem, OR
    Under Settings>Location & Security Setting>My Location, check everything. See if that helps. Otherwise, maybe Samsung hasn't quite worked all the bugs out of how they deal with GPS yet.
     
  5. seepage

    seepage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    442
    30
    43
    Try this it worked for me. First make sure you have no idea what you are doing. Then start flashing roms and going back to stock when you find out they are no better. make sure you brick it a few times on the way and have to ask people on forums who know what they are doing for help. Do this till you have had enough, then give up and go back to stock and voila. It works. Best since Eclair. I hope this helps.
     
  6. THE ANDROID

    THE ANDROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    284
    16
    38
    PlayStation Network
  7. lobo76

    lobo76 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    78
    8
    16
  8. carpalia

    carpalia Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Thank you. I tried all the settings on my phone but nothing worked during the holydays. Monday morning back at the office I tested once more - and voila - now it worked. I have no clue what so ever what happened.
     
  9. seepage

    seepage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    442
    30
    43


    Thats the secret.;)
     
  10. kauserrehman

    kauserrehman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    friends ..... just make a GPS test on your phone to check the GPS signal is receiving or not

    1 just type *#*#1472365#*#*

    2 now go to command and check for my location

    3 This will check the gps signal and tell about the exact location .

    4 now try any gps application .it 'll work definately

    Tried on android 2.1 ............

    working nice

    Thanks...
     
    LateNiteMike likes this.
  11. LateNiteMike

    LateNiteMike Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    212
    14
    58
    Retired
    American Expat now living in Thailand
    I don't know where you found out about this number and method.....but I am very impressed....IT WORKS ! :)
    I have been having problems all along with Maps and GPS and this method gave me lots of information regarding GPS....and it really improved my SGS's ability to show my location! Wow!
    It's late night here now and I have very poor signal (sometimes nonexistent) strength even for my cell bars....and so I had to get near the window and it picked up 7 sats within 15 seconds.
    Then I opened up Maps and it showed my location right away! Amazing !
    I want to try it outdoors tomorrow and away from the tall high rise buildings. I'll be very interested to see if it does the same or better....and if my location improves.
    I already sent my 'Thanks'....but Thanks again. This method is a great find....and if it 'fixes' my GPS problem..permanently...I will be forever grateful. :D
     
  12. GregwGA

    GregwGA Member
    Rank:
     #1,523
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    31
    2
    16
    Not sure I understand intruction #1 and #2. Are you saying type *#*#1472365#*#* on the phone keypad like making a call? I tried that and I got a recording saying call cannot be completed as dialed. On #2 what do you mean by go to command and check for my location. How to do that?
     

Share This Page

Loading...