1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General No internet connection on my new S3 from tmobile

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MarkH27, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. MarkH27

    MarkH27 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012

    Dec 29, 2012
    26
    2
    16
    Hello everyone,

    I just purchased the S3 from Tmobile (50$ no contract/unlimited everything)..and today for some reason the phone does not connect to the internet.

    When I'm at home it pickes up my wifi connection in my house and its fine then...no problems accessing the net.

    But if I turn my wifi off or in an area where there is no wifi (like at my job), shouldnt the actual phone connection be used for the net??

    I say this just happened because yesterday I was at work and was access the net no problem theu the phone itself with no wifi.

    I wake up this morning and now I cant access the net UNLESS i have a wifi connection.

    The ONLY thing that transpired between yesterday and today was over night my cell phone number from my old carrier was transfered to my new S3...it happened at 2:36am..tmobile sent me a text saying the transfer was completed.

    And I do have almost a full bars connection with the phone right here at work right now.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Steps to try

    1 remove battery for 30 seconds
    2 check android settings > wireless and networks > more settings > mobile networks > access point names matches carrier website
    3 speak to carrier to ensure your data service is fully active since the number port

    Its definitely related to the number port. Its not a device issue. But do 1 and check 2 anyway
     
  3. UserName872

    UserName872 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    620
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    620
    87
    78
    Network Administrator
    Philadelphia, PA
    Agreed, it's likely the port. Saw this kind of thing often in college selling mobiles. T-Mobile sent the text but likely it isn't fully complete or you may need to pull your SIM and battery or reset your APN settings.
     
  4. MarkH27

    MarkH27 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012

    Dec 29, 2012
    26
    2
    16

    yep..that did it...simply removing the battery..really i should have done that before even posting...but for the life of me it didnt even cross my mind...whan all else fails remove battery..thats cell phone trouble shooting 101 haha.
     

Share This Page

Loading...