1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support "No Location Access" Popup

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Grrrrrrrrr, May 26, 2017.

  1. Grrrrrrrrr

    Grrrrrrrrr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016

    Feb 3, 2016
    40
    8
    26
    This just started within the last month.

    I leave my "Location" turned off, by the main switch, 99% of the time. On rare occasions, 3 times in the last year, I turn it on to use google maps.

    For a few weeks now I constantly get these damned annoying popups telling me my location is turned off.

    Screenshot_20170526-164655.png

    I haven't added any new apps, it's something google has done. Both "Remotely locate this device" and "Allow remote lock and erase" are disabled and always have been.

    I'm getting this message on both my phone with 6.0 and my Tablet with 7.0.

    As I can't figure out how to contact google support does anyone here know how the hell to get rid of this annoying popup?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ravelnotch2

    Ravelnotch2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    23
    5
    26
    Male
  3. Grrrrrrrrr

    Grrrrrrrrr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016

    Feb 3, 2016
    40
    8
    26
    No my devices aren't rooted.

    Odd thing is, the popup stopped 2 days ago all on it's own. There were no updates (that I know of).

    My background is in PC's, both windows and linux and I have to say Android is the worst security *********** I've ever seen.

    Don't get me wrong, I like my phone and tablet but I don't trust them with any information/data not already publicly available.
     
    Ravelnotch2 likes this.
  4. Telyx

    Telyx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    May 25, 2015

    May 25, 2015
    107
    66
    73
    Male
    Garden City, MI, USA
    My ZTE Blade V8 Pro popped that up on my last reboot (yesterday). I'd never seen it before.
     
  5. Phalon4

    Phalon4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016

    Apr 18, 2016
    526
    192
    133
    Turn your location ON and then power cycle your device and after it's on again, hold your device up high if possible and do a figure 8 in the air, repeat this process if needed until your device is located.
     
  6. Phalon4

    Phalon4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016

    Apr 18, 2016
    526
    192
    133
    Unfortunately that is part of Android's Systems UI.
     

Share This Page

Loading...