1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root No Longer Have Data Connection, Please Help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eric3316, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. eric3316

    eric3316 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    461
    96
    53
    NC
    I went to install a theme on CM6 final and now my EVO will not bring up a 3G connection anymore even after flashing a stock rom. It will not connect to data or even show the 3g symbol.

    I can still make calls though.

    Does anyone know what setting might have changed or anything I can do to get my data back?
     

    Advertisement

  2. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    Did you wipe dalvik and cache before flashing?
     
  3. exclamation_mark

    exclamation_mark Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    406
    120
    88
    You may also try flashing the most up to date Radio's and WiMAX, mainly the radio.
     
  4. uechij

    uechij Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    I had the same problem yesterday(no 3g or wifi connectivity). It just disappeared suddenly. I ended up calling sprint and they tried everything but could not fix it, so they told me to take it in to one of their stores. I figured they would just run their useless diagnostic check then tell me they will need to reflash it like they always do. So i decided to save myself the 30 mile drive and hour wait and handle it myself. I ended up reflashing it, and it fixed it....for now, but that was freaky.
    If anyone knows what this is about please let me know, thanks
     
  5. winger

    winger Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I have a full stock device and this happens to me occasionally. To get the 3G symbol / data connection back, I go to menu...settings...wireless & Networks...and then un check mobile networks...wait a seconds, then recheck. or sometimes just waiting some time and doing nothing fixes it. Sometimes the first method I mention results in issue occurring again a few times. On this case, just reset the device seems to work.
     
  6. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    First try reflashing the ROM after a FULL wipe. If that doesn't work, restore a sense ROM, call sprint.....they *should* be able to fix it over the phone.
     
  7. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    flash back to a sense rom and data reprovision


    ##3282#
    edit
    data profile
    menu
    restore


    only works from a sense rom.

    curious of why it could have happened other than the radio change and a loss of communication with the towers
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...