1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root No Media Connection--HELP!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rolltidedad, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. rolltidedad

    rolltidedad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    156
    2
    36
    So I installed CM7 last night and followed all directions to a "T," and everything worked...until I had to reboot this morning...

    When it restarted, I have no media connection...

    I get the following errors:

    1. android.process.media has stopped working
    2. com.android.phone has stopped working

    Can anyone help? Quick!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    what is not working or what prollem are you having as a result of this? when i get those particular FCs, i find them to immediately start backup as they are needed for proper phone function.

    did you attempt to install system data with titanium backup? if so this is likely your prollem,and unfortunately the solution will be to go to recovery,do a full wipe(data/cache/dalvik) and reflash cm7 and gapps.

    otherwise, hopefully its just one instance as i havent had that particular prolem at all on cm7,just on sense roms is where i see it. if it keeps up,check md5 of download and rewipe/reflash and see if that fixes.

    and make sure youre not using rom manger to install it :)
     
  3. rolltidedad

    rolltidedad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    156
    2
    36
    Yes, Scotty, I did...I thought I read somewhere that I needed to backup my apps and system data that I had stored on my phone before I flashed cm7 and then reinstall afterwards...

    The errors continue to pop-up and don't allow me to connect my phone or internet...

    The reason I had restored with Titanium is because I was trying to restore all of the contacts that I had on my phone with my stock sense rom...I previously had all of my contacts linked with my facebook account, but those disappeared after I installed cm7...

    Is there a way to link my FB account with my contact list? I downloaded sincmypix and used it, but it was only able to download a few pictures, and I don't think any of those showed-up in my contacts on my phone...

    I'll wipe and reflash and then wait to hear more good advice from you...

    Thanks!
     
  4. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    restore a backup,and re-do all of your contacts so that they are google contacts. that way google will automatically restore them when you flash your new rom. once youve gotten all that changed over,force a sync with google and then all youll have to do is rewipe and reflash cm7.

    when you sign in to your google account on startup all the contacts will return. after the sync is finished,just open facebook,go to setting,and put the dot next to sync all,then sync now(or whatever it says at the bottom of that screen) this will import all your faceboot contacts to your contact lost,and merge the ones that are the same(i.e. exact same name) so that the FB pic becomes the contact id pic.

    when youre going thru and updating your contacts in your working backup,just make sure to change the names of any contacts to be identical to that contacts FB name so that it will automatically merge. AOSP is not quite as smart at making the connections between your google and FB contacts as sense is.

    last and not least,there is an option in faceboot to only sync the fb contacts that are also google contacts,in the event that you do not want your FB only contacts showing up in your contact list. tho at the moment this setting escapes me.

    hope that helps.

    oh almost forgot- in the future,only restore user apps and app data,no system data or anything else. :)
     
  5. rolltidedad

    rolltidedad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    156
    2
    36
    Thanks!

    I guess I'm sure what you're talking about with restoring a backup and redoing all of my contacts so that they are google contacts.

    Could you please explain this process for me?

    I don't know if this is important or not, but I did find that after I flashed the MR2 radio but before I flashed cm7 I had no data connection...
     
  6. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i cant go into alot of detail,cause im on my way out the door,but hopefully someone else can chime in on the how to to make contacts into google contacts. basiclally theres a setting somewhere when you open a contact th determine if its a syncled google contact,or an unsynced phone only contact.

    on the data,if youre in or newar wifi,i believe you could still sync that way without having to go back to your old radios. otherwise,unfortunately,you will have to flash your old radios in hboot in order to get erveything straightened out in your backup.

    good luck! ill try and watch if you have more questions. :)
     
  7. rolltidedad

    rolltidedad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    156
    2
    36
    Now are you saying that I need to force a backup before I flashed cm7? That seems like it'd be pretty complicated.

    Is there some way to do this without having to reflash radios and ROMs? Perhaps some way to access this through Titanium?
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    No,its really not complicated. You just need to restore a backup,set contacts to Google,then go to accounts and sync contacts.

    That's it :)

    Only other option would be to re-enter them manually,that I can think of.
     
  9. rolltidedad

    rolltidedad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    156
    2
    36
    Okay...

    I wiped everything and reinstalled...then I ran a Titanium backup with apps and data, no system data...

    I then rebooted and ran into the same problem...

    So I wiped and reflashed again but didn't run a Titanium backup, and I'm fine (I actually did this twice)...

    So I'm guessing that there's something corrupted in the Titanium backup??

    And I still have my question about restoring contacts without restoring an old pre-cm7 backup...
     
  10. rolltidedad

    rolltidedad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    156
    2
    36
    Oh, so I don't have to reflash sense? That's good. Does it just back-up the data, not the OS or ROM?

    How do I force a restore?

    And did you find-out how to change all contacts to google?
     
  11. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    First a couple questions...
    1- are you comfortable using clockwork recovery?
    2- do you have a backup that contains all the contacts you need?
     
  12. rolltidedad

    rolltidedad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    156
    2
    36
    1. Yes...I've read-up about it online last night and used it to flash cm7...it's pretty easy to use.

    2. I did a system back-up before installing last night before I wiped everything clean and installed cm7.
     
  13. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    Did you make he backup in clockwork recovery? Or are you refering to the backup you made with titanium?
     
  14. rolltidedad

    rolltidedad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    156
    2
    36
    Recovery.
     
  15. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    Excellent! If no one else comes to the rescue,ill post up some clearer directions as soon as I'm able. For now you may want to go ahead and do a full wipe and reflash cm7 so it works correctly :)
     
  16. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    ok,sorry for the delay. actually i have a new plan. i dunno if it will work,but its worth a shot and will save you from having to reflash the radios a couple more times.

    -download the rooted OTA rom from here: [ROM] Official 1.70.605.0 MR2 OTA Deodexed Rooted Busybox Mirrors Added :D - xda-developers it uses the radios youre allready running.
    -boot into clockwork recovery. make a backup of cm7(assuming you got it reflashed and working correctly)
    -now do a full wipe(data/cache/dalvik). flash the ota rom.
    -boot it up,sign into your google account. get titanium backup from the market,and use it to restore everything,including system data. since this is another stock rom it may be close enuff for you to restore the system data without all the force closes you were getting on cm7. it should bring back all your contacts.

    now is the part i cant figure out. i tried to figure out how to change a contact from phone to google on my stock incredible(sense 1.0,but i figured it wiuld be similar) and i have no idea. when i make a new contact,it asks you to pick unsynced phone,or synced google,but i cant figure out for nothing how to change it once its saved :mad: some quick google searching seems to indicate it may not be possible :eek: im not a sense rom that i can look at and try and figure out,at the moment. maybe the forum can help us here? :thinking:

    failing just eding the contact somehow,you could possibly just run backup assistant,or find an app in the market that would possibly sync them for you. this is an old thread,but it may help: http://androidforums.com/eris-suppo...w-convert-phone-contacts-google-contacts.html

    but anyway,once you figure out a way to sync your existing phone contacts with your google account,then all youll have to do is go to settings/accounts and sync anhd force google contacts to sync. once its done,go back to recovery,full wipe,then restore your cm7 backup. or reflash it.

    now when you sync your contacts,they will automatically download from google,and it should work like i described in post 4 to get your pics to sync from facebook,etc.

    just in the future,always make sure you pic "google" as the type when adding new contacts!

    hope that help you some :)
     
  17. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    You may also want to try fix permissions if it is still not working after another flash. Sometimes the permissions for system apps can get fubar with flashes and it will cause issues, I would not recommend ever using titanium to restore backups/data of system apps that will almost always cause issues because each rom will use slightly different versions of system apks.
     
  18. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    not to mention sense and AOSP frameworks are competely different :eek: no way restoring system data is ever going to work across that big of a difference... well beyond the scope pf fixing permissions.
     
  19. rolltidedad

    rolltidedad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    156
    2
    36
    Good idea...

    But should I back-up my current cm7 verson? When I backed-up before I installed it I had all of my contacts. Now most are gone. If I back-up, won't that permanently delete them

    Should I flash the OTA rom and then force a restore of my pre-cm7 back-up?
     
  20. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG

    No, if you are restoring a backup and going to flash a new rom I wouldn't think you need to backup again, a backup does not delete any others it just makes an img of your phone for you to restore later if you need to.

    It doesn't matter if you flash an OTA before restoring the backup, the img it makes is an exact copy of how your phone is at the moment you backed up
     
  21. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    if your current cm7 version is good and working correctly,and you have set it up to a point that you dont want to re-set it up,theni would most definately back it up.making a back up in recovery is not going to hurt any of your phone contacts. a backup is a perfect snapshot of everything on your phone,apps.text messages,call log,etc. when you restore it,everything will be exactly like you left it.

    what you do NOT want to do is make another titanium backup. for this plan to work,its important that titanium contains the system data from your original backup,where your contacts were present. if you backup system data now,youll overwrite the backup where your contacts were present,and compatible with the OTA rom to a backup where most contacts are missing,and you cant restore cm7 system data to the OTA rom anyway.

    im not sure what you mean by your last statement... forcing a restore of your pre cm7 backup.

    i think your best bet is to flash the rooted ota rom,restore system data from your original backup with titanium backup,then find a way to sinc all your contacts with your google account.
     
  22. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I believe he was asking if he needs to flash a rooted OTA rom prior to restoring the nandroid backup. With people new to rooting the fact that you have multiple backup methods that are for different reasons can be confusing until they are more familiar with rooting terminolgy
     
  23. rolltidedad

    rolltidedad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    156
    2
    36
    Yes...that was my question...

    I need to flash the OTA Tom and then do a full titanium restore with system data...and then fix my contacts...right?...

    And Yeahha...do you have any ideas on how to convert phone contacts to Google contacts?
     
  24. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Correct

    Not sure how to get them all on google.

    I thought of this.

    Restore the contacts in the stock rom then go to them and press menu then import/export I think you can then save them to your sd and restore them once you get back onto your rom of choice.

    You may be able to choose sync contacts when you set up the ota rom restore then go to accounts and sync in settings and manually sync the google account
     
  25. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    in a worse case,i believe you can run backup assistant. then you can go to verizons website and save the backup asst contacts as some kind of file,then import that file into your google account. i had to do that initially,when i first got my OG droid,as there was no other way :eek:

    the details are fuzzy now,but you could google "import backup assistant contacts to google" or somethin to that affect.

    did you look at the other thread i linked? it mentioned an app you could possibly use to export them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...