1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root No mms with Icarus 1.1 (metro)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rlugo29, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. rlugo29

    rlugo29 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    250
    11
    38
    New Port Richey, Fl
    I have somehow managed to successfully install Icarus1.1 as I'm not that tech savey. However, now I can't receive mms msgs. Sending is ok but receiving is not. Yes I've tried the mms fix in the 3rd or 4th post of the Icarus thread,but no luck. Any help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. rlugo29

    rlugo29 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    250
    11
    38
    New Port Richey, Fl
    Just so you know the Icarus link I used was the one for both carriers.
     
  3. Nesdroid

    Nesdroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011

    Jan 2, 2011
    46
    5
    16
  4. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    that info is already on here.... in the third or fourth post i believe.... or maybe the "mms fix for metro" thread.

    you should check myascend.org out anyway.

    not quite as friendly as on here but still worth a look.
     
  5. Jon22

    Jon22 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    47
    8
    16
    I agree with rlugo. When i first installed icarus, i too was unable to recieve mms. so i redownloaded the zip for both metro and criket and then added a new APN rebooted and all was ok.
     
  6. rlugo29

    rlugo29 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    250
    11
    38
    New Port Richey, Fl
    Jon, can you help me do what you did??? Did you have to flash back to the stock software before you redownloaded the zip?
     
  7. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    Restore your old rom if you want but you can flash a new icarus1.1.zip without doing so.

    The process will delete your current icarus with the fresh downloaded .zip
     
  8. Jon22

    Jon22 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    47
    8
    16
    rlugo,

    No i didnt, i downloaded the .zip for both carriers and followed the steps to install icarus 1.1 again...using clockwork.....or however its spelled. just make sure youve backed up your phone cuz like a goof i didnt, but then again i didnt care what got lost. after that i still wasnt able to send mms so i created a new APN like the thread u had followed, made sure it was active rebooted and all is good now
     
  9. rlugo29

    rlugo29 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    250
    11
    38
    New Port Richey, Fl
    When you say reboot, do you mean just shut the phone off for a few seconds then back on?
     
  10. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    That's what reboot means. :D
     
  11. rlugo29

    rlugo29 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    250
    11
    38
    New Port Richey, Fl
    Thanks guys! I'll try the fix this weekend.
     
  12. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    Note on rebooting...
    I like to pull my battery for about ten seconds before rebooting.

    Its a hold over from my razr, I guess.
     
  13. rlugo29

    rlugo29 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    250
    11
    38
    New Port Richey, Fl
    Just so everyone knows, I followed the advice above and everything works fine now. I am a super happy Icarus user now.
     
    matter0ni likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...