1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General No music in "My Music" & can't play music in "Play music"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Suncrow, Oct 29, 2012.

  1. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    I loaded a bunch of music on to my SD card using Backup asst plus & when I open "My Music" & go to "My library" the message "There is no music" comes up.
    Also, when I open "Play music" most of the music I loaded won't play & I get the message "can't play title/album".
    Ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,099
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,099
    415
    273
    TN
    Rebooted phone?
     
    Suncrow likes this.
  3. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    Yep. No change.
     
  4. Adara

    Adara Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    275
    39
    43
    Is it possible that your music is in your internal storage (while your music app is looking for it on your external SD card)? If so, try moving your music.

    (I'm sorry I'm not more definitive. I had a similar problem but can't remember how I solved it. But I'm thinking that this is what I would have tried.)
     
  5. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    According to the size of the drive, it must be the SD card.
    Is there a way to change the drive those apps look at for music?
     
  6. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    The music app will automatically find the music there is no way to tell it where to look. Not with the stock player anyway
     
  7. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    So, any other suggestions? Reboot 'til the music shows up? ??
    Thanks for the help...
     
  8. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    Download a sd rescan app from the play store and use that. I have always used that when my music won't show up and it works fine. Although one reboot should be enough. Are you sure the file types are supported?
     
  9. Adara

    Adara Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    275
    39
    43
    Er... perhaps going into Manage Apps, force a close of the music app and clear the cache?

    (This would probably kill your playlists, but I'm thinking it might force your music app into starting fresh.)
     
    Suncrow likes this.
  10. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    Clearing cache won't lose anything. If you clear the data then you will
     
  11. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    Downloaded Rescan SD & ran it, no joy. Opened manage apps & forced close. Still no luck. "My music" shows no data on SD card in Manage app page. Also, cache shows no data. Rebooted phone.
    I am not sure if the files types I loaded are supported. They were CDs loaded to PC, then uploaded to phone through Backup asst Plus.
    I can play some of the music through "Play music" but not all of it.
    ??
     
  12. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    Your problem may lie in backup assistant, I would try just plunging your phone in and dragging and dropping files to the music folder
     
    Suncrow likes this.
  13. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    Thanks! Will give that a try!
     
    carracerz14 likes this.
  14. Mistabonez

    Mistabonez Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012

    Sep 4, 2012
    8
    2
    6
    Make sure you ripped your CD music to an MP3 file format, the original music player does not recognize WMA files.
     
  15. arparaspolo

    arparaspolo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    410
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Did you freeze any moto apps? If you have the Motocast ID or similar apps frozen, try defrosting them one by one. I can't remember which one exactly it is, but if frozen, none of your music will show up.
     
  16. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,099
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,099
    415
    273
    TN
    maybe they were ripped as .wma files? not sure Google has license for those...
     
  17. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    OK, after dragging & dropping one disc, the cover shows up in My music, but still will not play. Checked the original files on the computer & the ones that work in Play music are mp3 files, the others were ripped as wma files.

    As far as whether I froze any Moto apps, I have no idea what that is or how to do it. Sorry, novice here...

    Is there a way to change the format of the files once they are ripped to the computer, like change the wma files to mp3?
     
  18. Grey1001

    Grey1001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    538
    91
    78
    NorCal
  19. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,099
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,099
    415
    273
    TN
    And make sure to change your rip settings for future use.
    Also, you could delete the .WMA files and re-rip the the CD.
     
    Suncrow likes this.
  20. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    quickaudi- That's what I decided to do. It will take a while, but I'll do just the discs I intend to load on the phone until I get some time to do other music. And, I did change the settings.
    Everything works fine after reloading with the new files ripped as mp3...
    Thanks so much to you all!
     
  21. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    Loaded mp3 ripped discs onto phone. My music still only shows music in Playlist. I think I am going to give up on that app. Play music works just fine...
     
  22. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    Still have fragmented albums in Google Play, Play music, Rocket Player & WinAmp. Have tried all above suggestions multiple times.
    Any other suggestions?
     
  23. Suncrow

    Suncrow Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Male
    Preserve Steward
    Oregon
    Still have fragmented albums in Google Play, Play music, Rocket Player & WinAmp. Have tried all above suggestions multiple times.
    Any other suggestions?
     
  24. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,099
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,099
    415
    273
    TN
    Do the id3 tags show the correct info?
     
  25. elcameano

    elcameano Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #759
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    106
    12
    38
    Male
    My playlist clears itself....I have a couple playlists and 2 times now i will go to the list and they will be empty. The list name is still there but you clock on that list and no music is in there. Anyone ran into that?
     

Share This Page

Loading...