1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No notification of incoming text messages?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Boozeman, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. Boozeman

    Boozeman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    43
    4
    36
    I've noticed today at work then with my phone on vibrate or with the sound off, I do not get any notification of incoming text messages. Same thing with incoming email on my gmail account.. I could have sworn that the phone would vibrate when I got a text the first couple of days I had it. But now I get no vibrating notification at all.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    Do you have the setting for the messaging app and the gmail app set to vibrate?
     
  3. Boozeman

    Boozeman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    43
    4
    36
    How do I check that? I just have the entire phone on vibrate, but I've never gone in any changed any app settings, so I have them set however they come normally.
     
  4. Boozeman

    Boozeman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    43
    4
    36
    okay, it wasn't on for gmail but it was for texting. So vibrate is now on for both and I still get no vibrating when I receive a text message or email. All I get is the green light at the top of the phone that blinks every few seconds.

    I know for a fact that the vibrate was working my first couple of days with the phone, but it's not now - any ideas? I didn't make any changes to any of the phones sound settings, so I have no idea what could have caused this.

    EDIT: And just to test, I just set it to vibrate when I send messages as well, and then I sent a text and it didn't vibrate at all.
     
  5. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    Turn on the vibrate when typing and see if that works. Maybe it's an internal issue with the phone.
     
  6. Boozeman

    Boozeman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    43
    4
    36
    The vibrate while typing has been on since I got the phone and works fine right now. So its only when receiving or sending messages :mad:
     
  7. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    I'm out of ideas then. Sorry.
     
  8. Boozeman

    Boozeman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    43
    4
    36
    So weird...it vibrates on an incoming call but not text. Do you think there is something the Sprint store could do about it?
     
  9. odawg2104

    odawg2104 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    21
    3
    16
    had the same problem.. had to do a hard reset.. but the issue was fixed after that.. thinking some program i downloaded caused it.. Either it was the flashlight program or camera editing program.. didnt install them since last night and havent had a problem since..
     
  10. Boozeman

    Boozeman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    43
    4
    36
    By hard reset what do you mean? Just holding down the power button and rebooting the phone?
     
  11. odawg2104

    odawg2104 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    21
    3
    16
    How to hard reset the HTC EVO 4G - Know Your Cell



    hope this works.. it willl wipe the phone, not the memory card tho.. and set everything back to default
     
    Boozeman likes this.
  12. vblick

    vblick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    78
    7
    16
    a lot of people are having this problem including myself. I you don't want to hard reset and lose all your stuff just download "sound manager" from the app store and turn on the vibrate feature. Works like a charm now.
     
    Munnarg and Boozeman like this.
  13. Boozeman

    Boozeman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    43
    4
    36
    ahhhh there we go, that works! so weird, but thanks a lot. thanks also odawg.
     
  14. dunersbsquad

    dunersbsquad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for the info. The sound manager fixed my problem too. I think it was the light bulb app. It was really starting to piss me off.

    THANKS!
     
  15. issues_92

    issues_92 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    t only does it not vibrate but it also makes no sound when I receive a text. But it rings when I get a call? What should I do?
     
  16. jhuff83

    jhuff83 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    48
    5
    16
    I don't want texts to vibrate with audio but if the phone is on vibrate I want the texts to vibrate. I think this is a flaw. Is there a fix for this without having to download 3rd party software?
     
  17. Munnarg

    Munnarg Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    229
    29
    43
    Male
    Thank you so much for this...too bad I couldn't come on to see it earlier. I got to work and hour and a half late cause I was messing with this phone trying to figure out what the hell I did wrong lol. I'm gonna hard reset this weekend when I have time, but for now Sound Manager is doing the job. Do you know if things will go all crazy again if I delete it?
     
  18. GodOfHell

    GodOfHell Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    just reboot your phone ... i had the same problem
     
  19. SteveSkal

    SteveSkal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Denver, CO
    I have the same issue and don't really want to reboot my phone as lose all my contact info and everything, I spent hours entering it all in. Don't know about this Sound Manager app either?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...