1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support No program space

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Deacoon, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. Deacoon

    Deacoon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    My phone was recently having some serious issues. I'm not even sure how to explain it. So I did a hard reset, so its just like the day I got it. Except one thing. For some reason I don't have any program space now, it says I have 0 mb. If anyone can help me figure out how to get the memory back I'd appreciate it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,501
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,501
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    Welcome to AF! :)

    It would be handy if you told us which device you have, we'd be in a better position to help that way.
     
  3. Deacoon

    Deacoon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Oh yeah I didn't even think of that lol. Its the mesmerize SCH-i500
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,501
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,501
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    No probs, moving to the Mesmerize subforum. :)
     
  5. matt88si

    matt88si Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    259
    31
    63
    Male
    Illinois Department of Transportation
    Downers Grove, IL
    Welcome!

    So you've attempted to do a system restore on your Mesmerize. Upon turning the phone back on after the restore, did anything seem unusal to you other than the loss of hard drive space? Also, is it the actual phone hard drive that is now 0 or the SD card? Remember, when you do a system restore, the phone may format the SD card if left plugged in while doing the system restore.

    If you're unsure and would like to try to do a different style of system restore, then try following this guide.

    Let me know what else I can do to help.
     
    Deacoon likes this.
  6. Deacoon

    Deacoon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I tried that way of restarting it. But it didn't seem to work.

    I think its the actuall phone hard drive, under storage it says my Program Space is 0.00B/0.00B. The personal data and external sd card both have plenty of room.
     
  7. matt88si

    matt88si Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    259
    31
    63
    Male
    Illinois Department of Transportation
    Downers Grove, IL
    Hmm. That is odd. Have you attempted a second reformat of the phone? If not, I would recommend doing that before going any further. If the same thing happens again, then I would contact US Cellular, tell of the problem, and have them send you a new phone.
     
  8. LaTuFu

    LaTuFu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,286
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,286
    257
    173
    Project Manager
    Virginia
    I would try a factory reset, if that doesn't work, take it in for a swap. It sounds like it died on you.
     
  9. matt88si

    matt88si Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    259
    31
    63
    Male
    Illinois Department of Transportation
    Downers Grove, IL
    You know, you never mentioned what the serious issue was when you originally had to do the factory restore. What exactly was going on with the phone that caused you to need to restore it?
     
  10. Deacoon

    Deacoon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I was on facebook when it started being unresponsive. I tried to turn it off with the power button but it didnt work so I pulled the battery. It worked alright for a couple minutes after that then became unresponsive again. After another battery pull I tried to turn in on and the animation came on but then the screen just turned black so I just let it sit. Eventually it came back but the majority of my apps were gone and it changed back to the defualt background. And it kept telling me things werent working.

    So then I did a factory reset and its working fine but I have no program memory.

    I took it into a local US celluar dealer and explained what happened but she told me shes not allowed to work on phones so I have to call the US cellular tech people.
     
  11. matt88si

    matt88si Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    259
    31
    63
    Male
    Illinois Department of Transportation
    Downers Grove, IL
    Unfortunately, the only people allowed to work on phones at the USCC store are the techs themselves. In order to get a tech, however, you have to go to a USCC store that has a tech center. If they don't have one, then going there is just a waste of gas.

    As I mentioned before, the best route to take at this point is to call in to USCC (Dial 611 on your cell phone if you can, otherwise you can look up their number at their website) and explain the issue. Mention that you have taking all procedures (just to get them to shut up about it) in attempt to correct the issue, but to no avail.

    After some chatting about your phone, the USCC representative should transfer you to a tech and then some more talking will go on. Lastly, they will tell you you're eligable for the replacement program and they will ship out your new phone (they'll tell you to keep the battery and back cover of your old phone). This usually takes 1-2 days and it comes via UPS.

    Best of luck!
     
  12. Deacoon

    Deacoon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Yeah i called in last night. New phone is on the way. Thanks for the help though. I appreciate it.
     
  13. matt88si

    matt88si Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    259
    31
    63
    Male
    Illinois Department of Transportation
    Downers Grove, IL
    No problem! Feel free to drop in now and again if you have/need/want anything from the community.

    Take care!
     
    El Presidente likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...