1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

"No recently used apps" flashing on and off the screen continuously

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wimrp, Aug 9, 2017.

  1. wimrp

    wimrp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017

    Aug 9, 2017
    8
    0
    5
    Hopefully someone knows what is going on here. New Note 4: any app I open flashes continously back to small window. Error message: 'cannot open app in pop up view'. Other message is: 'No recently used apps'. It makes the phone near impossible to use. Anyone knows a remedy?  SM-N910A
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,881
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    1,881
    927
    343
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    Take it back to your carrier
     
    James L likes this.
  3. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #96
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,113
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,113
    542
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    reflash firmware.
     
    wimrp likes this.
  4. philayl

    philayl Android Expert
    Rank:
     #210
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    833
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    833
    228
    103
    Male
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Hi, you could try a factory reset but to be honest as it's a new phone I would let the supplying dealer sort it out. Phil
     
  5. wimrp

    wimrp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017

    Aug 9, 2017
    8
    0
    5

    I would already have done so had the circumstances been different. A family member got it for me from amazon in the U.S. and I am using it in Europe. That in itself would not affect its performance, but it kind of eliminates the option of returning it.
     
  6. wimrp

    wimrp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017

    Aug 9, 2017
    8
    0
    5

    How do I do that?
     
  7. philayl

    philayl Android Expert
    Rank:
     #210
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    833
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    833
    228
    103
    Male
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    I wasn't aware that you could use the AT&T model in Europe, I was under the impression that the modem was not compatible, have you tried flashing with the European firmware? Install Odin on your computer, go to here https://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/galaxy-note4/SM-N910F/BTU/ and dowload the firmware file (takes a while), when downloaded put it in the Odin folder. Turn off your phone, then restart whilst holding the "Home" "Volume Down" and "Power" button at the same time, keep holding until a warning about flashing a ROM can harm your phone appears, release the buttons then use the Volume up button to go to download mode. Open the Odin folder on your computer and start Odin, connect your phone using the USB lead and wait the message "Added" to appear, select the "AP" button and go to the file you have downloaded (it will have a .MD5 extension and select it, then hit "Start" and wait for it load, when finished the phone will reboot a couple of times. Please note you flash this phone at your own risk, while I have never had a problem doing this in many years it does have a small risk of going wrong. It is not as difficult as it appears, and writing it down takes twice as long as doing it. Phil
     
  8. Leon Marco

    Leon Marco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #366
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    May 15, 2017

    May 15, 2017
    233
    81
    63
    I'm assuming you know what flashing a firmware. If you don't then ask. For flashing first we need to know your phone's details. What is its model number?
     
  9. wimrp

    wimrp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017

    Aug 9, 2017
    8
    0
    5

    SM-N910A

    And, no I had not heard of 'flashing firmware' before.
     
  10. wimrp

    wimrp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017

    Aug 9, 2017
    8
    0
    5
    Before moving I had my (at&t) Note 3 unlocked and it worked well for 2 years. This Note 4 is unlocked too, although loaded with AT&T bloatware junk, so I am veering towards rooting the phone. Thing is, the current problem makes it very hard to do anything.
     
    #10 wimrp, Aug 10, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2017
  11. Leon Marco

    Leon Marco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #366
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    May 15, 2017

    May 15, 2017
    233
    81
    63
    Flashing firmware reverts the phone back to how it was given by the manufacturer. I would suggest you to see a video of how to do it. While searching type your [model number] and flash firmware or flash stock firmware. Check this site it might have all you need http://androidromupdate.com/att-galaxy-note-4-sm-n910a-stock-firmware/
     
  12. wimrp

    wimrp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017

    Aug 9, 2017
    8
    0
    5
    Factory reset did nothing to fix this problem. A local store also talked about flashing firmware, just like you all.
     
  13. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #96
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,113
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,113
    542
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    Update this device has been brought back to a fully functional state with specific apps removed at the OP's request. As he described and i saw for myself via vysor the phone was almost impossible to navigate or use for more the 2 seconds.

    After a firmware flash there was no change. So i pulled a few tricks out of my sleeve and tada magic lol.
     
    wimrp likes this.
  14. wimrp

    wimrp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017

    Aug 9, 2017
    8
    0
    5
    Thank you James, your help was most appreciated!
     
  15. wimrp

    wimrp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017

    Aug 9, 2017
    8
    0
    5
    Now that, thanks to James, I can finally use this phone I have transferred some music to it from my PC but I cannot find it in the Music app or anywhere else on the phone. Any tips anyone?
    Another problem is that I need to press multiple times on keys before they respond even after increasing key sensitivity in settings.
     
    #15 wimrp, Aug 23, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2017

Samsung Galaxy Note 4

Samsung Galaxy Note 4

Share This Page

Loading...