1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root No Red Exclamation Mark Shown When Installing Custom ROM!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by OhShizzl3, Jan 5, 2011.

  1. OhShizzl3

    OhShizzl3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    Okay, Hi :)

    I just rooted my Desire a couple of days ago using the Unrevoked method which was all straight forward and I assume I done it correctly as the SuperUser Ninja thingy is on my apps list.
    The problem is that whenever I try to install a custom ROM on my desire I go through all the steps correctly but when in recovery mode no "red exclamation mark" as ever shown on my device and it goes straight to Clockwork Recovery Mode.
    This has happened a couple of times and I have still tried to open the "recovery-windows" file in my C: Drive but this just makes the phone show two different screens which keeps changing with each other. I still tried to install the ROM by using the ClockWork Recovery Mode by wiping the data then the cache then installing it and rebooting it but this made my HTC reload with a black screen with white lines on either side. So then I restored the backup I made and got it back to how it was when I first rooted it but I really want to know what the problem is (if there is one) or if I'm being a complete noob! :thinking:

    I'm sorry if I am but everytime I look at a tutorial or a video on YouTube describing this, everyone receives the red exclamation mark whilst I receive a totally different screen.

    Thanks for reading and I hope I haven't wasted your time :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    That's completely normal, the red ! is the stock recovery...unrEVOked replaces this with a permanent CWM so just use that
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Sounds like you are using ancient guides and ancient roms.

    What rom and version of the rom are you installing? has it definitely got full SLCD support?

    What are you using "recovery-windows" for?

    Please try and walk me though what you are doing step by step
     
  4. OhShizzl3

    OhShizzl3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    Lol, I think I am :p
    I did carry on with the ClockWork Recovery Mode screen and flashed a Modaco ROM (if link is needed I will find it)
    I kinda just wanna check if this other ROM I found will work because I don't wanna wipe my phone just to return it to its original state

    ROM - [ROM][newSense][04/01]DHD Rom Port by baadnwz v1.7b STABLE|SUPER FAST|1.72 Base - xda-developers

    And as I believe I am a complete noob how would I get Apps2SD working when downloading it within a ROM?

    Thanks again :)
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    See the faq in my sig for that, and yes. That rom works well. Flash in clockwork.
     
  6. OhShizzl3

    OhShizzl3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    Hey thanks for that but now when I was flashing the ROM it comes up with

    "E: Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 (File exists)
    E: Can't mount SDEXT:
    E: Failure at line 10:
    copy_dir PACKAGE: data SDEXT:
    Installation aborted." :thinking:

    I have found some forums which say that they had to re-root their phones but when doing so they bricked their phones.
    Is there any other way around this

    Thanks for any advice
     
  7. OhShizzl3

    OhShizzl3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    19
    0
    15
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Have you partitioned your card yet? If so, looks like it didn't work..what method did you use?
     
    OhShizzl3 likes this.
  9. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    982
    248
    93
    Manchester, UK
    Sounds like the rooting worked, but there's no EXT3 partition for A2SD+ on your card. The card needs the EXT3 partition before you flash any ROM with A2SD+ capabilities.
     
  10. OhShizzl3

    OhShizzl3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    Okay, I partitioned it again and the ROM is flashed :)

    Thanks for all the help guys!
     
  11. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    982
    248
    93
    Manchester, UK
    Good to hear :)
     
    OhShizzl3 likes this.
  12. Borat38

    Borat38 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    47
    2
    16
    struggling writer
    Still on the topic of partitioning: do I understand correctly that Oxygen is the only custom ROM that doesn't require partitioning?
     
  13. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    Most custom ROMs don't need it, it's just for installing more apps
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Someroms come with it bundled in, in which case, they may not boot without a partition.

    However, you can modify the rom zip file to remove the apps2sd+ script.

    to do this, just open the zip (not extract it) in say, winrar

    Navigate to System/etc/init.d and delete the appropriate file before flashing

    Aurax uses 03stuff2sd
    MIUI uses 04apps2sd
    Oxygen uses 10apps2sd
    Defrost & Leedroid uses40a2sd

    (courtesey of iinga)
     
    shauny13 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...