1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No such file ...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jsm562, Dec 27, 2009.

  1. jsm562

    jsm562 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    I type cd /system/app. I type "ls" and the list of files appear. When I try to mv a file, the response is "No such file or directory", even though the file is in the list. Can anyone help?

    Jim
     

    Advertisement

  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Two questions. Have root? Did you mount? mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
     
  3. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    mtdblock4 not 3. The reason mtdblock3 is getting passed around is because in the begining of all this rooting the Droid stuff someone c+p'd the directions from the G1, which uses mtdblock3, however the Droid uses mtdblock4. I doubt that is the problem though.
     
  4. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    For simply renaming files, it doesn't seem to matter. I experimented with both, no difference. I don't think that's his issue. I think he either forgot the "su", or forgot the "/system" in his mount statement.

    But far be it from me to correct you, oh wise wizard. :D
     
  5. jsm562

    jsm562 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Thank you for your help. I had to "chmod 777 /system/app" before I could mv any files.

    Jim
     

Share This Page

Loading...