1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No Sync with Ford after update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bfr57, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. bfr57

    bfr57 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    My Note2 did an automatic update on Jan. 7th and now it won't sync up with the Ford Sync system in our '13 F-150. I have tried to un-sync and sync multiple times with no luck. Help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,466
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,466
    8,284
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Have you tried a device reboot, have you also tried deleting the BT device and then scan for it again and set it up again, see if that resolves the issue, if those steps don't work, you might want to try a Factory Reset, see what others say first though.
     
  3. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    My experience is you have to delete it on both sides, vehicle and phone and resync. Not impressed with the experience on my '09 Escape so quit using at least a year ago. I have the problem where the phone sounds (ringtone and voice) are much louder than radio so you get blasted when a call comes in. I suspect your S/W version is newer than mine tho. Also, I wipe too often so forget about resyncing.
     
  4. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,945
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,945
    1,966
    693
    Male
    USA

    :D:D
     
  5. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Oh grow up. :D:D
    How you been?
     
  6. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,945
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,945
    1,966
    693
    Male
    USA
    :hahaha:
    I'm always late to the game. I finally bought a Note 2. Well worth the wait, though.
     
  7. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Is it already on 4.3 (locked bootloader)?

    I got mine last summer, just before going on a trip to the black hills in SD where we had no wifi or cell service for a week... :D

    I like it but confess I never use the stylus.
     
  8. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,945
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,945
    1,966
    693
    Male
    USA

    Yea, it's on 4.3. But, mine had 4.1.2 when I bought it and I rooted it immediately and put 4.4.2/Kitkat.

    I never use the stylus either.:D

    I also have been hearing grumbling about FordSync so I'm not sure if it's Note related or not. I'm in the car business and I hear stories about our "sister" store across the street that sells Fords and the nightmares about their system.
     
  9. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I stuck with touchwiz roms to not loose the stylus functionality, yet never use it. Also had the Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 with a stylus, but think I might have that sold to a guy who also will never use it. :D

    Come to think of it, I've never paired my Ford with the N2 so don't even know if it has the same, loud volume issue as Galaxy Nexus. Guess I have a goal for this week now.
     
  10. bfr57

    bfr57 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2
    0
    5

    Sorry, but I'm not versed in this stuff. How do you perform a device reboot? What's a BT? Factory reset?
     
  11. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    BT= BlueTooth :D

    Find your phone on your vehicle under BlueTooth devices and delete it. Find it on your phone (settings... connections... BlueTooth), long-press on the connection and choose "delete".

    If that doesn't work....To Factory reset.... Settings... accounts... Backup and Reset. No need to wipe the sdcard, but you might want to backup anything important like pictures. Your apps should install from Play Store, but you'll lose any customization/preferences you had.
     
    DonB likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...