1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No UI when on A/C power

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jimmy4vb, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. jimmy4vb

    jimmy4vb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I've had my Mesmerize since Nov 2010 and had it upgraded to stock 2.2 in the store. The phone was stellar running 2.1 but has been a headache running 2.2 (bluetooth issues, unlock issues, missed calls, flaky signal strength, no UI when powered, softer vibrate, etc.). I did a factory reset and then upgraded to 2.2.1 (EE19) via mini kies at home. The update fixed the missed calls issue, so it is actually a phone again. The other problems are annoyances, but the one that continues to confound me is the non-functioning UI when on A/C power.

    I use streaming audio while at work and need to keep the phone A/C powered. When powered, the touchscreen UI is unresponsive or erratic about 80% of the time. Unplugging the power fixes this 100% of the time. USCC's tech support recommends I do a complete reflash but I have been reluctant to do so.

    Anyone else see this problem? Any suggestions outside of a reflash?
     

    Advertisement

  2. LaTuFu

    LaTuFu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,286
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,286
    258
    173
    Project Manager
    Virginia
    I agree with the reflash. For whatever reason, the mini kies updates seem to cause more problems than they solve.
     
  3. scott_

    scott_ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    100
    11
    38
    electrician
    Central Iowa
    I have only noticed that issue with mine when I don't use the samsung supplied power cord/adapter.
    If I use a generic power cord I will have a nonfunctioning touch-screen till I unplug it. It will charge, and receive calls and such, I just can't do anything with it till I unplug it.
    If I use the stock cord I can use it like it's not plugged in at all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...