1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No video playback Droid X

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GatRoot, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. GatRoot

    GatRoot Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I recorded a video on my Droid X and it will not play the video! When I go to gallery and tap on the video it says. Error File cannot be displayed or played. I am currently running 2.2.1 if that matters. I downloaded root explorer and did what a buddy told me to do and still no playback. HELP! I really want to see this video.
     

    Advertisement

  2. GoldenBulletXD

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    I would convert the video file to MPEG-4.
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,012
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,012
    23,880
    3,118
    Scotland
    Are you using the stock player, or have you installed a 3rd Party media player? Are you also recording using the stock app or an app you've downloaded from the market?

    You shouldn't have to convert files that you've recorded on the phone itself (unless you're using an app you've installed yourself and the stock player doesn't like the format).

    If you transfer the file to a PC, will it play on that?
     
  4. GoldenBulletXD

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Hmmmm It may be a corrupted file somewhere in your phones OS
     
  5. GatRoot

    GatRoot Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    GoldenBullet. I can play other recorded videos on my phone. It has happened in the past for unknown reasons.
     
  6. GatRoot

    GatRoot Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    El Presidente. I am opening it with the "stock" gallery on the phone and recording with the video camera on the phone "stock". Plus I dont know how to config to mpeg4.
     
  7. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,012
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,012
    23,880
    3,118
    Scotland
    Are you recording at 720p? A quick google shows some issues recording at 720p using the standard Class 2 SD Card that comes with the phone. I take it you haven't replaced the SD Card at all?

    Also, there are apparently issues with video playback on Froyo, if you go Settings -> About Phone -> Software Information, is your Android version start with 2.2 or 2.3?

    Try a software update: Settings -> About Phone -> Software Updates Settings -> About Phone -> Check Now (that's what it is on my handset, it might differ slightly on yours).
     
    GatRoot likes this.
  8. GoldenBulletXD

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    What class is your Micro SD card?
     
  9. GatRoot

    GatRoot Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    No I havent replaced the SD card. Its the one that was in it when I bought it. apparently ive been recording in 720p but other recordings in the same fashion can be played back. Version 2.2 is the one I have. As far as the class of SD card, hell i couldnt tell ya.
     
  10. GoldenBulletXD

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Well this is strange :p, All I can think of is backup all your stuff and do a factory reset. :p
     
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,012
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,012
    23,880
    3,118
    Scotland
    Look at the card, it should tell you the size, then have a number in brackets after that. That's the class. It denotes the read/write speed of the card. I've had issues with class 2 on my handset when recording HD video, generally anything above Class 6 should be fine.

    It's temperamental by the looks of things, it might not happen every time. Is there any way you can try another card?
     
  12. GatRoot

    GatRoot Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    yeah it is a 16GB class 2 card.
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,012
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,012
    23,880
    3,118
    Scotland
    If you've got a different card, I'd try that. Did you try for the software update too?
     
  14. GatRoot

    GatRoot Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    How do you do the software update?
     
  15. GatRoot

    GatRoot Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    would I be able to play back the video i shot if I got a different card and it wasnt something else wrong with it?
     
  16. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,012
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,012
    23,880
    3,118
    Scotland
    I'd say the video you made is gone for good unfortunately.

    There are instructions for doing the update a few posts up (just click here).
     
  17. jimmc414

    jimmc414 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have experienced this same phenomenon with the Droid X where some videos will not play back. I make lots of videos that come out fine. I have a strong hunch that the reason this happens is that there are a few seconds after you stop recording before you get your menu back. If you hit the back button after hitting stop on your video but before it can finish its end of recording process you will get a video that is unplayable. Its like it is finalizing the video or writing header records or something. Just a hunch but I believe that is it. If you still have the video it could be repairable with 3rd party video editors but not sure.
     

Share This Page

Loading...