1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No(w) update for sim-free UK S2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by graingert, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. Forbidden 403

    Forbidden 403 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    291
    63
    53
    Male
    India
    Is your PDA already LP7 ?? :thinking:
    If yes then you already have ICS.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Forbidden 403

    Forbidden 403 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    291
    63
    53
    Male
    India
    See Sammy is working hard in the background :)
    Congrats.
     
  3. andy66

    andy66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    69
    3
    16
    ROOFER
    LEEDS
    NO,thats the firmware that i can upgrade to,im still on 2.3.4 same as all unbranded in the UK.
    havent installed yet as my battey was only half full so im going to charge it first.

    ive read i may need to do a factory reset before updating but why dont samsung advise you to do this on kies??
    all it says is back up data?
     
  4. andy66

    andy66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    69
    3
    16
    ROOFER
    LEEDS
    @DAZG did you factory reset your phone before you updated mate.
     
  5. saleando

    saleando Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    31
    3
    16
    Somewhere Down the Road
    yes, that update is ICS but it is a stock ICS firmware
     
  6. Forbidden 403

    Forbidden 403 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    291
    63
    53
    Male
    India
    You are advised to do a factory reset while updating from GB to ICS but it's not mandatory.

    Updates via Kies are always stock ICS firmwares.

    My advice is that post update via Kies immediately do a factory reset. You would lose your apps but you can always reinstall them from the Play store and also restore your contacts and and other info from your google account.
     
  7. saleando

    saleando Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    31
    3
    16
    Somewhere Down the Road
    ^
    yes, you can also use titanium backup and do the batch backup if you have lots of apps
     
  8. andy66

    andy66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    69
    3
    16
    ROOFER
    LEEDS
    sounds like more hassle than its worth,i dont use google to store contacts either .
    lm not arguing the point but how come samsung dont tell you to factory reset in the instructions on kies?
    sounds like an important thing to miss out?
     
  9. Forbidden 403

    Forbidden 403 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    291
    63
    53
    Male
    India
    He can't use Titanium Backup as that would require him to be rooted.

    It's less of a hassle keeping long term in mind :p
    I would sincerely ask you to use google to store contacts and calender etc, otherwise what is the sense of using an android. You are missing out on the best features.

    Samsung does not ask us to do a factory reset because like you said it's a slight hassle to do and it's optional and not mandatory when only following official updates :)
     
  10. DazG81

    DazG81 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012

    Mar 27, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    i didn't do a factory reset on this occasion.
     
  11. emlynw

    emlynw Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Just received ICS on my unlocked S2 via Kies. Installation worked well, now to see what it's like.
     
  12. SRH990

    SRH990 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    10
    2
    16
    Yup, got this with the wife's GS2 this morning, also XEU, now updated to 4.0.3 :D
     
  13. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    And your point is....? Many other handsets from other manufacturers have also not received "interim updates". If you want every minor OS update you buy a Nexus.

    I ask yet again, please provide a link.
     
  14. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England
    I wouldn't bother doing a factory reset if I where you. I have updated major versions in the past and all has gone fine.

    As you say if Samsung don't tell you to do it there is really no need.


    Plus you would lose all your data,it's really more hassle than it's worth.
     
    andy66 and dunjamon like this.
  15. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Unbranded XEU update confirmed as available via Kies; also available for download via CheckFUS for those using Odin.

    I9100XWLP7/I9100XEULP5/I9100XXLPS/I9100XWLP7
     
    Solarwind likes this.
  16. andy66

    andy66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    69
    3
    16
    ROOFER
    LEEDS
    cheers casual pete!!

    i thought about a reset but ive got 161 apps on.lol.
    my contacts seem to be in different places aswell,some on phone some facebook and some in go contacts ex that dont show up in the phones phonebook????
    is there a quick way to get all your contacts in one place
     
  17. bally3

    bally3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012

    Apr 17, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Just updated via KIES also, XEU unbranded S2.

    No need for backups or anything.. straightforward and up and running in about 10 mins.. big woop! ;)
     
  18. rozel

    rozel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011

    Oct 2, 2011
    120
    10
    38
    UK
    I have a CPW update as well Phone KI4 to LP7 and like some of the above posters am willing to wait and see as my phone works very well :)
     
  19. revel

    revel Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009

    Aug 11, 2009
    50
    6
    16
    Shropshire
    ICS now available via kies and so far no problems
     
  20. pk1209

    pk1209 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    47
    0
    15
    wow so it is... that's tonights job sorted..
     
  21. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Its not mandatory to factory reset the phone for firmware updates. I am sure in most cases the updates works out well and the phone faces no problem. But sometimes it doesn't with clashing of apps, clashing of remnants of firmwares... etc. Sometimes you get force closures, reboots etc... and then sometimes like mine, it (the reboots) goes away after awhile. It depends on what's in the phone and no one would be able to test for every configuration possible.

    Guess the best for now is to try it and see. And if you have problems, could always reset after that.

    Cheers
     
  22. rozel

    rozel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011

    Oct 2, 2011
    120
    10
    38
    UK
    Even CPW Firmware phones have the update too :)
     
  23. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England
    I've learned enough from flashing custom roms that you can get problems from flashing over the top but for a rom from the manufacturer you would expect that for the majority of people it will turn out fine. There will obviously be problems for some but that's unavoidable and in no way would it warrant a factory reset where you can't save your data properly. It's worth taking the risk and if you face problems as you say you can factory reset AFTER the update if needed. Or you can figure out what's causing the problem and fix it and save yourself the hassle.:D
     
  24. dannheath

    dannheath Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Online Retail
    London
    Just received the 4.0.3 on my Sim free UK Galaxy S2, I'm very happy with it at the minute :)
     
  25. Solarwind

    Solarwind Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    27
    4
    16
    :D :D :D - .. and about time too!!

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...