1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

No way to see 3G CDMA Signal Strength??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dequardo, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. dequardo

    dequardo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    478
    41
    43
    I see how to view it in 4G (none where I am) but NO way to see 3G strength?? Am I missing something? I've seen this on all other android devices...

    Help
     

    Advertisement

  2. pingpongboss

    pingpongboss Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    541
    278
    113
    Are you talking about the signal bars? I sure see them.

    Dial *#*#4636#*#* then go to Phone Info for even better Signal strength read
     
  3. dequardo

    dequardo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    478
    41
    43
    Yep that does it thanks. But...no way to view this natively as on other Android phones' 'menu', 'settings' 'about Phone'?
     
  4. silliybilly

    silliybilly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    72
    13
    18
    wisconsin

    Kinda crazy that EVO doesn't show signal strength in the "About Phone" menu. The Incredible and Droid both show signal strength in db's in that menu. I think the Hero does also. I wonder why it was left off the EVO?
     
  5. dequardo

    dequardo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    478
    41
    43
    No clue. It does show it (in a different 4G menu) for 4G but not under 'about phone'. Weird
     
  6. BetterMost

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    1,066
    119
    163
    Paramedic
    Northern Illinois
    I know why because you can truly see how lousy the signal is when you have the direct readout. This was a big bone of contention with the Incredible I bet this is why they did away with it because these handsets have weak antennas.
     
  7. frootbat

    frootbat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    I used this on the Droid, but it was missing in the phone info for me as well, so I downloaded Real Signal from the market.

    It's free, and will give you real-time/high/low EVDO and CDMA signal strengths. (to get the numbers, you have to pull down the status bar)
     
  8. roninld

    roninld Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    64
    22
    18
    Is this the one you are talking about?
    Real Signal - Android app on AppBrain
     
  9. frootbat

    frootbat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    17
    1
    16
  10. Aridon

    Aridon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    224
    45
    43
    It is odd that you can't see the db under system/about. The hero and every other android device I've used had it.
     
  11. frootbat

    frootbat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    17
    1
    16

    I know, it's the first thing I looked at when I got the phone. Given the bad rep Sprint's network has, I want to be able to check signal strength during my 30 days.
     
  12. iboombastic

    iboombastic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    May 24, 2009

    May 24, 2009
    105
    4
    36
  13. iboombastic

    iboombastic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    May 24, 2009

    May 24, 2009
    105
    4
    36
    is 88db good?
     
  14. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    It's a cover up concerning the EVO Death Grip.
     
  15. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    300
    33
    43
    its not terrible!
     
  16. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Download an app from market called "Network" and it will show the screen without dialing the numbers.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...