1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support no wi-fi - no MAC address

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cooperd5, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. cooperd5

    cooperd5 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Hi all,
    my wife's phone no longer works on wifi, it has the wifi-buddy fix (which used to keep it connected) and having looked at it, it reports the MAC address as "unavailable"
    Is this symptomatic of a hardware failure? or, should I do a factory reset?
    Its an orange SF, unlocked but otherwise totally standard on 2.1
    TIA
    Coops
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,075
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,075
    23,986
    3,118
    Scotland
    Very strange indeed, aside from the WiFi Buddy thing, do you have any other apps installed on there that control connections? Juice Defender, Green power etc?

    You could try uninstalling the Blade Buddy, see if that makes a difference (I doubt it though).
     
  3. cooperd5

    cooperd5 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    no other control apps, its still running the orange branding etc as she is like me, just a user! I will un-install the buddy program and re-try and advise, thanks.
    Coops

    OK, removed wifi-buddy - no change :-(
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,075
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,075
    23,986
    3,118
    Scotland
    Does the router recognise it as having tried to make a connection? Or won't WiFi turn on at all?
     
  5. cooperd5

    cooperd5 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    not a sign of it on the router... wifi turns on, then scans (so it says) and fails, then turns off. :mad:
    Thanks,
    coops
     
  6. dannymur

    dannymur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    361
    153
    68
    Male
    Ireland's Lake Land
    change MAC adrress on a Blade - Android @ MoDaCo

    check above for poss solution!!

    Settings --> Wireless & Networks --> Wi-Fi Settings --> Press Menu --> Advanced --> MAC address

    What is showing there?

    Can you confirm App you were using, Blade WiFi fix, which was designed specifically to re-connect WiFi on the ZTE Blade/OSF.

    Or WiFi Buddy, which appears to be a more general WiFi scanner and GUI front-end for existing WiFi functions on your device, not specifically for the OSF.
     
    cooperd5 likes this.
  7. cooperd5

    cooperd5 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Hi,
    it was the blade wi-fi fix.
    The mac address shows "unavailable" and I can't find data/misc/wifi folder or a file called athSavedEeprom.bin :-(
    Is this likely to mean a new ROM is required? I can't find the receipt so warranty is no longer a possibility...
    Thanks!
    Coops
     
  8. cooperd5

    cooperd5 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    all fixed now, had to wipe it and load a 2.2 ROM - wifi works a treat and so deos everything else, better than before!
    Thanks for all the help
    Coops
     
  9. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    enjoy the custom rom m8 :)
    now overclock it a bit n feel the difference :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...