1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root No wipe for few months, phone slower. Flashed all CM7 nightlies, don't want to reset settings.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by androidw2, Apr 28, 2011.

  1. androidw2

    androidw2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    Hello. I have a Droid Incredible, and have been flashing Cyanogenmod 7 since the first nightly available back in January. I have never wiped data or even cache because it would be too hard to reset all of my settings and homescreen setup.I have flashed every nightly, release candidate, and stable version. Now I barely have any space left, my phone is super slow and laggy. I heard this might be helped with a wipe, but I can't stand to. I did however use my friends Droid Incredible, who has wiped last week and it was Sooooo much better. I really don't want to setup everything again, though. Help. And I do like to flash every nightly ASAP to get the best features possible.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Doing a full wipe and reflash is really the only way to clear up issues like that. Especially since you have flashed it multiple times without wiping.
     
  3. Joe Dirt

    Joe Dirt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    514
    103
    93
    work for the man.
    TEXAS
    I always wipe my cache and dalvik when flashing nightlys, but not my data. Wiping data resets your phone, not cache. Give that a try with your next flash.
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Actually sounds like you still have a copy of every rom (nightly) that you have flashed saved on the phone still too. Just by not wiping data will not cause your phone to run out of space, unless you are saving plenty of pictures/movies/other media to the sd card too. That will free up plenty of space if you delete them. Clear the download cache in rom manager if that's how you've been downloading them.
     
  5. Medion

    Medion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    1,851
    957
    233
    Male
    Auburn, WA
    Start by wiping cache and dalvik. That should make it more tolerable without erasing your settings. However, you really should have been doing a wipe at least once between RCs, and definitely at the stable launch.

    Anyway, try the above and see if you can live with the results. If not, time for a complete wipe.
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I rarely try to push people in a single direction, rather give choices. However, it is my opinion that you NEED a full wipe. I would most definitely get rid of all the nightlies you have stored as well, I'm surprised you have any space left.

    It doesn't take that long to set thing back up settings wise. Just restore apps/app data with Titanium and that's 85% of the battle out of the way in minutes. Besides, refamiliarizing yourself with the menu settings is a good review once in awhile. JMO.
     
  7. bowerman

    bowerman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yeah buddy. you need to do a wipe whether you like it or not. no one here can do magic. :thinking::thinking::thinking::thinking:
     
  8. androidw2

    androidw2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    I wasn't talking about the SD card. I do delete those roms. I'm talking about internal storage. When I first started I have 550 meg now I have 380. plenty, but i haven't installed that many apps. Homescreen setup is so hard to restore. I wiped the cache and Dalvik, and the only difference I noticed was that it took a long time to boot. There was really no difference with the lagginess of the rom. I really like flashing every new cm7 rom though. What can I do?
     
  9. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    as stated, no one can work magic, doing a full wipe is part of flashing roms if you want them to be stable, especially when CM goes through updates. There is just no way around it. If you don't want to do full wipes, don't update the rom, just stick with stable releases.
    The memory you seem to be talking about is your app storage, you must have more apps than you realize or some very large apps.
     
  10. androidw2

    androidw2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    Are you sure there is no other way to make a rom feel new, and keep flashing over and over it? I honestly cannot wipe between every nightly (every night pretty much). That would take to much time. I want to be on the cutting edge without losing anything. Anyone? I mean, when you get OTA updates you don't have to wipe or anything, it's not a whole new ROM, why can't cyanogenmod do that?
     
  11. Medion

    Medion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    1,851
    957
    233
    Male
    Auburn, WA
    Don;t wipe between every nightly, but set a realistic gap between wipes, like every RC and stable release, or every 2 weeks.

    But if you read my last post, you actually can speed up your ROM without losing data. You just have to actually read the posts and not skim them :)
     
  12. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    you don't have to wipe(data) between every nightly, or even at stable releases unless stated by the developer. BUT you will eventually come to a point where a enough changes have been made to the framework that a wipe is required so your apps can re-adjust to the changes. This is the point you are at. The downside to being on the cutting edge, as you put it. I recommend simplifying your setup, or most people have setting up their phone down to a science and can have it all set back up in 20-30 mins after a full wipe. I personally am only using 3 home screens and use "apps organizer" to group my apps into folder type widgets that can be restored easily with titanium, takes about 10 mins for me to set back up my screens.

    You can't compare an official OTA that comes maybe once a year to something that is released nightly and is labeled by the developer as experimental(flash at your own risk). And even when applying an official OTA it is recommended to do a factory reset first.
     
  13. androidw2

    androidw2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    I did read your post. I believe in my post it says that I wiped cache. Maybe you should read and not skim my posts.

    Also, I asked for a different way. Any there should be ways to update without flashing a whole new rom, rom developers are just inefficient at finding out how to make it exactly like an OTA update. Also, how can I simplify setting up all of my settings, ignoring the homescreen problem for now. And the app data? I have used Titanium but I heard it's not good to restore settings or something like that.
     
  14. Medion

    Medion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    1,851
    957
    233
    Male
    Auburn, WA
    Nope, you said:

     
  15. bowerman

    bowerman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    is this a joke? lol. seriously?
     
  16. androidw2

    androidw2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    Look at my second post I made on this thread. Not familiar with threads so I don't know how to quote it. But yeah, I actually followed your advice. I didn't skim.
     
  17. androidw2

    androidw2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    Hello people? Nothing? :'(
     
  18. bowerman

    bowerman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    you got advice. you chose not to follow the recommendations. nothing else to tell you buddy.
     
  19. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    doing a full wipe is part of flashing roms, just like when flashing an ota, it's necessary for android to work properly and reliably.

    If you can figure out a better process by all means try. But this has been the process since the first android rom and don't think that developers don't try to have their users avoid wiping, and in my experience do a much better job than HTC developers. You would experience similar issues if you tried applying that many patches that change the framework like you have on ANY computer OS.

    Consider yourself lucky to have been able to flash as many nightlies (with a couple stable builds in between) as you have without wiping.
     
  20. androidw2

    androidw2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    Ok. I finally wiped data, cache, and dalvik cache. I flashed the latest nightly- and it's wonderful! 10x faster, much more space on internal storage. Now to set everything up...
     
  21. bowerman

    bowerman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Glad it worked out for you. Welcome to the forums!
     
  22. jbuck1984

    jbuck1984 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    422
    39
    43
    Read through this.... fyi it is so easy to restore..... i let google account download all my apps, I use my backup root to restore data to my apps and contacts and then restore all screen layout using launcher pro. Only thing you need to add manually is widgets. All done within about an hour, and most that time is waiting for restores to load fully
     

Share This Page

Loading...