1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

NO "YouTube HQ"!?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by YaBoiD, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    390
    115
    88
    Lauderdale, FL
    ...So the reviews are saying the YouTube HQ app isn't installed. Not a dealbreaker but I'm lil disappointed. Especially since their marketing the Epic as a multimedia powerhouse. Is there be a way we could add the YouTube HQ app from the EvO to the Epic?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SebastianX

    SebastianX Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    298
    63
    53
    It's an APK just download it off XDA and install as you would anything else.
     
  3. SebastianX

    SebastianX Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    298
    63
    53
    It's an APK just download it off XDA and install as you would anything else. Also if it's the regular YouTube app all you have to do is menu > switch to HQ.
     
    YaBoiD likes this.
  4. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    390
    115
    88
    Lauderdale, FL
    Thanks for the info! Its the same app from the EvO?
     
  5. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,612
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    1,612
    108
    163
    Baltimore, Maryland
    2.2 has the HQ button
     
  6. Android_J

    Android_J Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    161
    14
    38
    Silicon Valley
    On my Captivate there is no HQ button but if you hit menu while in the player there is a "watch in high quality" option. Kind of a pain vs having a button though. Videos look great in HQ. I'm guessing this option is there for the Epic but the reviewers aren't digging very deep.
     
    cary328is likes this.
  7. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,612
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    1,612
    108
    163
    Baltimore, Maryland
    On the Galaxy S 2.2 rom, the youtube app has the HQ button just like the Evo and Droid X. I saw it...
     
  8. SebastianX

    SebastianX Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    298
    63
    53
    Here you go:

    Download: Youtube.apk (alt link) (alt link2)

    Instructions for installation…

    *Note 1*
    - This will remove theming from your Youtube widget.

    1. Download the Youtube.apk to your SD card.
    2. When the file finishes downloading, tap on it and select “OK.”
    3. Then choose “Install.”
    4. When it finishes select “Open” and play a video.
    5. Done!

    *Note 2*
    - If your widget does not work initially, reboot your phone and it should be fine.
     
  9. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,612
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    1,612
    108
    163
    Baltimore, Maryland

Share This Page

Loading...