1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root NoFrills or SetCPU

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MusicJunkie, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    What's the difference? O_O
     

    Advertisement

  2. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Without using it, or some kind of cpu control app (ie rom toolbox or system tuner, both are free btw) you'll get the default clock speeds (245/998) and whatever the default governor is for the kernel you're running.
     
  3. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    Do you think it's better than SetCPU? I don't use profiles whenever I use SetCPU, just the min and max and usually ondemand, interactivex, or smartass.
     
  4. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    As long as it works it is essentially the exact same.
     
    MusicJunkie and ocnbrze like this.
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    SetCPU is essentially the "golden standard" app for CPU adjustments. If your on a sense based ROM, why use anything else?

    If its the price that is the issue, there are free releases of it.
     
    MusicJunkie and ocnbrze like this.
  6. gonowhere

    gonowhere Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    350
    147
    88
    Norfolk, VA
    what's a good governor and max for AnthraX?
     
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Gov: Either Smartass or Interactive X.


    And for a Max 1113 is a pretty safe bet for most people. Just experiment and dont hit "set at boot" until your sure its not going to cause your phone to bootloop.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  8. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    Oh yea, I found the free ones, lol. SetCPU it will remain.
     
  9. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I would encourage you to support the dev by buying it from the market sometime in the future if you find yourself staying with SetCPU.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  10. gonowhere

    gonowhere Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    350
    147
    88
    Norfolk, VA
    I know Interactive does but, does SA have a screen off profile or should I say not need a screen off profile? I haven't set any profiles up, just letting the governor do it thing to see results.
     
  11. MusicJunkie

    MusicJunkie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,246
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    1,246
    348
    163
    Male
    North Carolina
    I would if I weren't a broke college student
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  12. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    They both do, but i still have one set at 422 max. Don't ask how, but I have significantly lower CPU speeds (pie chart) when I have the screen off profile set than when I do without it.
     
    gonowhere and ocnbrze like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...