1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Noise Cancellation setting?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Psychokitty, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    613
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    613
    64
    78
    In the forum dog house.
    I could swear I had de-selected a "noise cancellation" option in a menue somewhere in an effort to get my Droid to sound better during calls, but i can't for my life find it. (-Was I tripping?)
    Since then, I've removed my cheap-ass made-by-not-Motorola case after realizing (via this forum) that it was covering up the exterior microphone.
    Calls still sound like crap to me, but at least people can hear me better, I think.

    Anyway, if there's the noise cancellation opt and I wasn't dreaming or severely confused, can someone point me in the direction of that?

    Thankyas' muchly!:D
     

    Advertisement

  2. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    I think its under a "Privacy Setting", or labled "Privacy".
     
  3. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Settings/CallSettings/VoicePrivacy
     
  4. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    613
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    613
    64
    78
    In the forum dog house.
    Thankya!

    Soo... What's the general consensus on this, anyway? Leave it on or off? Anyone know how it works, what it does, etc?

    And then, what does the secondary mic actually do, and do these have anything to do with one and other?
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    I believe it has something to do with encrypting the voice data. How much it affects real world performance I'm not sure, but any encryption will place some processing overhead on a device. I left it off...sound "seemed" a tad louder/clearer.
     
  6. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    I leave mine at whatever the default is, the biggest difference in audio quality I noticed was changing that setting in the programming menu.
     
  7. memphiskat

    memphiskat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    31
    1
    16
    What setting in what programming menu?
     
  8. square

    square Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    506
    24
    63
    dial ##program (security code 000000) to get to the programming menu. under vocode settings, some people have reported noticeable improved call quality by changing to evrc-b. i don't notice a difference.

    OP: what issues are you having? mine has had a slight static since it was new...not bad enough that i'm gonna return it, but kind of annoying. i've changed vocode settings, voice privacy...nothing changes it.
     
  9. Psychokitty

    Psychokitty Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    613
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    613
    64
    78
    In the forum dog house.
    Mine has a digital sounding echo that I can sometimes hear, and it's my voice I'm hearing through the phone delayed. Others complain that I sound "muffled". I can hear others fine, but not very loud, and I wouldn't say "crystal", either.
    I have done the program # change mentioned earlier.
     
  10. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    56
    4
    16
    Be careful with this setting. There's some posts either here or on the Moto forum about people losing voice altogether on evrc-b if it's not been implemented in their area. I've been on the 13k vocode since I got the phone and it sounds pretty good. As I understand it, setting the phone on evrc will allow it to switch to the evrc-b standard when it's available which provides greater compression and thus is more efficient for the carriers. If you live in an area that has evrc-b implemented, then you're already on evrc-b and forcing it to evrc-b has no effect. But if you happen to be in a market that hasn't implemented evrc-b then forcing the phone to evrc-b results in losing voice. The 13k setting uses the least amount of compression but the greatest bandwidth so in theory voice quality should be better. Seems a bit better for me. I've always changed my phones to 13k and never had a problem.
     
    Psychokitty likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...