1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Non-UK desire?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by andybog, May 30, 2011.

  1. andybog

    andybog Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hello all,

    I bought my desire about 4 month ago from ebay, it was a private seller. Not had and I am not having any problems with it, it works fine.

    I was just wondering if i have a non-uk desire as the only locale options i have are
    Nederlands (nederland)
    Nederland (luxemburg)
    English (Netherlands)
    English (Luxembourg)
    Francais (pays-bas)
    Francais (luxembourg)
    Deutsch (Niederlande)
    Deutsch (luxemburg)

    If it is indeed a non-uk desire is it possible to load a stock UK desire rom to the phone?

    Cheers

    Andy
     

    Advertisement

  2. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    Not being funny, was the box in English? Surely that would be the biggest give-away?
     
  3. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    does it matter as long as it does english? overly patriotic?


    EDIT: just seen the english options. dont know what affect those will have tbh

    go to settings and about. tell us the entire list in the software versions
     
  4. andybog

    andybog Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yes the box was in English and should be a massive give away. But why is there no 'English (English)' option? Why all the 'Netherlands' and 'Luxembourg'.

    Android Version
    2.2

    Baseband Version
    32.49.00.32U_5.11.05.27

    Kernal version
    2.6.32.15-gfa401c
    htc-kernal@and18-2#1

    build number
    2.29.405.5 CL293415 release-keys

    Software number
    2.29.405.5

    Browser version
    webkit 3.1
     
  5. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
  6. andybog

    andybog Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    sorry, but, whats a Benelux version?

    Is there a standard UK Rom version available that i can flash?
     
  7. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
    Benelux is the combined region of Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg. Looks like your phone was originally intended to be sold in this region.

    Since you already have English language, there is no need to change the ROM. Changing locale however may fix certain things like number/date/measurement formats etc.
     
  8. andybog

    andybog Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thanks for the replies, i will use morelocale 2. Can i remove the app after i have updated my locale?

    Other than the lack of locale's will this be the same as a device that is bought and designed to be sold in the uk?

    Sorry for all the questions, i was a nokia man for bout 13 years and I had an understanding of they were.
     
  9. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
    I believe so.
     
  10. andybog

    andybog Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    used morelocale2 and set it to 'english (unitedkingdom)' removed the app and rebooted phone to ensure it would remain and it did, brilliant! :)

    Other than the lack of locale's which is now sorted will this be the same as a device that is bought and designed to be sold in the uk? ie had english (unitedkingdon) as standard?
     
  11. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
    The phone should "behave" as a UK phone, but the ROM software will stay the same until further update.
     
  12. andybog

    andybog Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    so a HTC desire sold in Poland and a HTC desire sold in the UK will have the same software versions?
     
  13. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    thats standard htc froyo code. its not area specific, its just eu
     
  14. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    The SIM card will dictate the available languages, or that's my understanding of it
     
  15. andybog

    andybog Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thanks for the info guys.

    Just waiting for HTC to release the gingerbread OTA :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...