1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root None of Gingerbread ROMS vibrate for notifications

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nivanov, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. nivanov

    nivanov Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Hi everyone,
    I've googled this issue extensively, and, though I've found plenty of posts, none of them helped. I started getting this issue when I upgraded to .596. I tried several ROMs, Shuji and Darkslide. Then I SBF'ed to .602 and wiped everything and installed Apex .602 RC3. Then I wiped everything (didn't sbf) and installed CM7 Gingerbread.
    None of these roms vibrate when a notification comes in. I made sure that Vibrate is set to Always, both in Settings and in Gmail, K9 etc. None of these applications make the phone vibrate.
    Phone calls vibrate just fine.

    Anyone has any ideas on how to fix it?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Are you sure that none of your apps are stepping on each other? I only mention this since you mentioned K9.
     
  3. nivanov

    nivanov Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I don't use K9 for my Gmail - those two are getting Push from different servers.
    My SMSs also don't vibrate, and I'm using standard AOSP SMS that came with CM7.
    Basically, NO notifications vibrate. :thinking:

    Alarms and phone calls vibrate just fine
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Weird man. I suppose you could try fixing permissions, but not sure if that will help.

    Or re-flash the rom.
     
  5. nivanov

    nivanov Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    The weird thing is that I reflashed multiple roms, wiping data/cache/dalvik/battery, and also SBF'ing once. Before SBF and after SBF, I ended up with the same result. I might back up my rom and do a factory reset? But isn't factory reset just wiping data/cache?
     
  6. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Maybe try just re-flashing the rom. If you do, re-download it just in case. I have had a lot of weird things happen to me (mostly negative things too) on my phone with pretty much most roms.

    I'm waiting for Liberty to get updated. For now, I'm on stock .602 which sucks.
     
  7. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    my vibrate for notifications hasnt worked since the 1st week i got my X, over a year ago!

    no rom has revived that either, so i quit worrying about it, you will 2 one day lol.

    i wish i knw what to tell ya but it sux when it happens that much i do know
     
  8. nivanov

    nivanov Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Well it's nice to know I'm not the only one, but I refuse to accept my fate :)

    Hardware-wise, I know my phone can vibrate like a champ - phone calls vibrate, setting it to "Vibrate" by lowering the volume makes it vibrate etc. So the motor isn't broken.

    I thought by wiping data/cache/dalvik/battery you pretty much revert the phone to it's original state. Is there anything else that can be overwritten by the rom but isn't erased by the full wipe/SBF? Seems very strange.
     
  9. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    sbf will not do it either, im tellin you, if you are having the same problem im having, it will never vibrate for notifications again, except for google+ it vibrates for that
     
  10. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    I use an app called "smart vibrate" and mine works fine. Have to say I haven't tried the stock or default ones.
     
  11. nivanov

    nivanov Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Awesome, let me give this one a shot! I read somewhere while researching this issue that if you have a 3rd party app that manages notifications, this issue goes away. I'll test and report back.

    VoidedSaint, there might be hope for us just yet
     
  12. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    if it corrects the issue i would be happy, but at the same time, not too happy lol
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Third party is the way to go most times.
     
  14. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    just not in your personal life :p
     
  15. nivanov

    nivanov Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Is there a third party app that manages vibration for all notifications? So far I only found gmail -only and SMS only apps
     
  16. nivanov

    nivanov Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Finally fixed it!

    Downloaded Audio Manager. Alerts did not have "Vibrate" checked. Checked it. All notifications vibrate now as they should.
     

Share This Page

Loading...