1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Noob Alert!! Help with duplicate app install

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by olechevytruck, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. olechevytruck

    olechevytruck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    5
    0
    25
    ok guys and gals... I am fairly new to Android, but I have stumbled around enough to know enough to be dangerous :D lol... ok, so heres what I got. I have an antiquated Sanyo/Kyocerra Zio, but it is on Cricket network. It is Rooted, and I'm running 2.2 with a stock ROM... Question is this: Is there any way to install the same app/game twice on this device? I have heard of it being possible with iStuff, but I'm not a fan of apple so I use Android, and figured this would be a good place to ask. I got the info I needed to Root this phone from here so I figured this would be a good place to start. Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance. BTW, the apps in question that I'm trying to duplicate is iMobsters and World War if it matters...
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    No worries, you'll be fine.

    By default, all apps go the same place under the hood and optionally you can move them to your SD card.

    Duplicates don't happen in Android.

    On very rare occasions an app will show up twice in your app drawer but that's just a glitch, fixed by a power cycling or a reset.

    I have had that happen once in two years, five phones. Pretty rare and easy to fix.

    Welcome to the forums!
     
  3. T.M.M.L

    T.M.M.L Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    463
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    463
    93
    53
    Ohio
    I've actually had 2 version of the same app. It does survive power cycling. I'm not quite sure how it comes about, because app higher versions usually override the lower, but I have had it happen.

    Had to clear out an older version of Mango today. Had versions 119 and 128. Both usable. just deleted the older one.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Wow, learn something new every day!

    I am guessing that they named the app file (apk) oddly for that to happen.

    OK. So that's the real answer then! :)
     
  5. olechevytruck

    olechevytruck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    5
    0
    25
    So adding a second "version" of the game isn't an option? Maybe I wasn't clear on this but I WANT a second app so I can start a second account in these games... is that possible?
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I don't think so.
     

Share This Page

Loading...