1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Noob Needs help with Flytouch 3!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JustCurious2, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. JustCurious2

    JustCurious2 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    12
    0
    35
    Hello, i just bought the Flytouch 3 and i connected it with an external harddisk but when i tick teh button "my pad' ,there is no sign of any external harddisk ,what should i do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. baz2236

    baz2236 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    What filesystem has you External Hard drive got as I don't think a NTFS is supported
     
  3. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    2.5 or 3.5? Is there any signs of life from the HDD? (lights?noise?vibrations?)

    Is the connecting cable definitely good?

    It should come up as UDisk1
     
  4. JustCurious2

    JustCurious2 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    12
    0
    35
    it is a 2.5" harddisk and ,yes ,it does make noise ,vibrations ,etc ,also the cable is defenitely good connected
    and yes there is also a Udisk1 but not under "My Pad"
    also i converted the harddisk to fat32 but the tablet still doesn't recocnise it
     
  5. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    So.. you are starting the MyPad app..without any external disks plugged in it shows two tabs, one 'Local' and one 'SD1' (which is the external tf card). Then, when you plug your external HDD into a USB socket an extra tab should show after a few seconds called 'UDisk1', if you then fit an usb flash drive into the other USB socket it will then open another tab called 'UDisk2'.... is this what happens when you try it? :thinking:
     
  6. tbod

    tbod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    247
    36
    43
    Can the USB ports supply enough juice to power a 2.5" drive? Regardless of this you might be better with an external power supply or powered hub...
     
  7. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    By virtue of it being a USB socket, it must comply with the requirements of the USB standard.. that requires it to be able to supply 5 volts +/- 5% @ 500mA for USB 1 & 2 and 5Volts =/- 5% @ 900mA for USB3.

    For those devices requiring more than 500mA they must supply a doubled up USB lead that can be plugged into two USB sockets, thus supplying up to 1Amp to the device. There cannot be many, if any,modern 2.5" HDD's that require more than 500mA to function.....On the other hand....a properly configured external power supply, plugged into an external HDD, if it has an external power socket, cannot hurt!
     
  8. toscal

    toscal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    How big is the external drive as you may run into problems if its larger than 40Gb
     
  9. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    Why is this? FAT32 has a 4GB file size limit but 40GB? My FT3 sees a 120GB 2.5" Fat32 external drive fine
     
  10. tbod

    tbod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    247
    36
    43
    I have read in several places of devices being supplied with power limited USB ports.
     
  11. JustCurious2

    JustCurious2 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    12
    0
    35
    sorry it lasted so long ,my internet connection doesn't function very good.
    no ,my problem is that the tablet recocnises a usb stick but it doesn't recocnise an external harddisk (from 750 GB)
     
  12. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    Try a smaller partition..or two....or three:D
     
  13. JustCurious2

    JustCurious2 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    12
    0
    35
  14. toscal

    toscal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    I haven't been able to get anything bigger than 40GB recognised by my Flytouch. This has also been reported by others in this forum and other forums as well.
     
  15. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    [​IMG]

    Note the size of the disk in the bottom left corner...40GB is not the limit!
     
  16. tbod

    tbod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    247
    36
    43
    Hi,

    How are you creating your partitions? What program? What OS?

    We already know Widnoze can't reliably format SD Cards with a FAT 32 file system...
     

Share This Page

Loading...