1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root NOOB needs help with ROM!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sharpie3000, May 11, 2011.

  1. sharpie3000

    sharpie3000 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Austin, TX
    Hello,
    I rooted my Desire using Unrevoked and everything went fine.
    I tried a few roms and they wouldnt work so i then found one called update-nexusone-FRF50-signed
    that seemed to work.
    Now when I go to boot my droid it won't get passed the HTC screen.
    I went to the backup and restore option and it says there aren'ta ny files found to restore.
    is there a rom I can use that will actually work, and could someone send me a link to it?
    I'm a total Noobie at this sort of think and really hope I didn't do serious damage to my phone.

    Please help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    All the good Roms are here:

    Http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=809328

    Also read the rooting faq linked in my signature
     
  3. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    Good old n00bs flashing a Nexus One ROM on a Desire...
     
  4. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,546
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,546
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    lol!! Indeed!
     
  5. ajh94

    ajh94 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    1,072
    73
    148
    Orange Telecomunications, Product marketing!
    Essex, UK
  6. sharpie3000

    sharpie3000 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Austin, TX
    Yeah,not the brightest move I realize.
    But my phone's not bricked or anything? I should be able to get it to work?
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Just flash a correct rom from the link I posted.
     
  8. ajh94

    ajh94 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    1,072
    73
    148
    Orange Telecomunications, Product marketing!
    Essex, UK
    Yeah you will be fine :) You didnt know not to flash the nexus ROM, although it can be amusing ;)
     
  9. sharpie3000

    sharpie3000 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Austin, TX
    Thanks.

    Another painfully noob question, the initall directions I followed didn't say anything about a partitian on y sd card. Will every ROM require me to do this?
    How do I make a partitian in my card?
    Thanks.
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Some roms that require EXT partitions for a2sd functionality will not boot without these partitions. Newer a2sd scripts on a handful of roms will boot without it.

    In addition to my advice of reading the rooting FAQ in My sig, can I also now advise you read the a2sd FAQ also in my sig?

    Read both of these faq's. At least once ;)
     
  11. sharpie3000

    sharpie3000 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Austin, TX
    Thanks guys. There's so many new terms I'm unfamiliar with it can be overwhelming.
    So from the list of roms you sent me in that link, do I want to use the Sense roms?
    And if I do a partitiaon, how do I do that?
     
  12. sharpie3000

    sharpie3000 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Austin, TX
    Also, I'm thinking I should ahve waited on this until the weekend, is there anyway I can restore my origninal settings and rom so the phonewill boot up and I can use it??

    Thanks
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Its up to you if you want sense or not. Do you like sense?

    In regards to partitioning the card, its in the a2sd FAQ.

    Did you take a backup via recovery before you flashed an alternative rom? If so then yes, you can restore to it. Otherwise, no.
     
  14. sharpie3000

    sharpie3000 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Austin, TX
    I thought I did, but there doesn't seem to be any files there so I must have messed that up too.
    I'm sure it seems like I'm ignoring your advice, but i've read your FAQs several times and jsut want to be sure.
    Being nothing wasbacked up, is there a ROM that doesn't require a partitian that a total noob like me could load easily jsut to get my phone up and running in the short run??
    Thanks
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
  16. sharpie3000

    sharpie3000 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Austin, TX
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    How long is it sticking on the htc screen? Did you do a full wipe / factory reset in recovery?
     
  18. sharpie3000

    sharpie3000 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Austin, TX
    Yes, I wiped the cache and restored to factory settings. It was the startup screen for around 15 minutes before I gave up.
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    So have you not managed to successfully flash anything?

    Did you check the Erase size before rooting? What recovery are you using?
     
  20. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    hmmm did you download the one with or without the radio?
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Only the 2.10 comes with the radio. The 2.29 is the one I advised him to flash.
     
  22. sharpie3000

    sharpie3000 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Austin, TX
    Just to be clear I downloadedthe fifth one down in that link.
    No, I haven't been able to flash anything.
    Just to be sure I'm not iverlooking something, here's what I did:

    Downloaded that .zip file.
    moved it onto my sd card, root level.
    Started in recovery.
    Says HBOOT .98.0000 at the top.
    wipe cache partitian, wide data/factory reset.
    Install zip from sd card.
    choose zip from sd card.
    select the zip folder.
    I get messages saying, finding update package, opening update package, installing update, formatting system, copying files. writing BOOT, installation complete, install from sdcard complete.
    Then I hit the back button and reboot system now.

    I did this and let it set for at least an hour and a half and got nowhere.
    Any idea what might be wrong??

    I'm not sure what 'erase size' is.

    Thanks.
     
  23. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    is the GSM or CDMA?
     
  24. sharpie3000

    sharpie3000 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Austin, TX
    Sorry... I'm not sure what either of those mean. :thinking:
     
  25. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    do you have a simcard or not?
    where did you get it from, which carrier?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...