1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Noob Question: G1 decent for robot processing?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by 1337hovie, Jul 29, 2011.

1. 1337hovie

1337hovie Lurker
    None

Jul 29, 2011
    Hey guys, quick question - i appreciate your time in advance,

I am a web developer, and looking to get into some light Android development. I am specifically looking to do this with robotics, and connecting to a Arduino, but that isn't my question:

I need to get an Android phone for tmobile, so i can keep a dedicated device on my robot (to do on board processing, instead of sending data to process). I was looking at the Google G1, because its the cheapest? like $80ish on ebay, and $90+ on craigslist.

• Is this a decent device? (i know nothing about android, i use iphone primarily)
    • Can i update to the newest Android, and it look clean and crisp like on the new android phones?
    • Is there a better phone for what i am looking for? (uber buget, with android, tmobile), should i consider another phone? i would like the G2x, but its like 300, and idk if i want to spend that on something thats going to sit on a bot.

Again, as a web dev, and i figured i might as well as people who develop on this platform, as they'll know the most about it, and what might fit my needs the best. I've used the forum search, but nothing too concrete on what i need.

Thanks again fellas,

JT

Advertisement

2. alostpacket

alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    None

Nov 29, 2009
    Android App Developer
    NY
    Welcome to AF!

Honestly, sorry to be a downer but I think your best bet is either a high-end Honeycomb (Android 3.0-3.2) tablet or to wait for an Ice Cream Sandwich (Android 4?) phone. Ice Cream Sandwich phones are due in the winter of this year.

USB host mode and the ADK weren't added until Android 3.1 (IIRC)

Read here for more info:

Android Open Accessory Development Kit | Android Developers

3. 1337hovie

1337hovie Lurker
    None