1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Not your average DNA Sim Card Error!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Brandino13, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. Brandino13

    Brandino13 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012

    Dec 24, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    Male
    I will make this short and sweet for all the 'tire kickers' but anyone interested in helping i'll gladly answer any detailed questions.
    My DNA is having the common Sim Card Error, but this one can't be fixed anymore. Ive been doing much research trying to fix this problem myself, but i dont really know where to turn now. The phone keeps saying "preparing SIM card" and i proceed to lose service. It did it every couple days when i first bought the phone, and just recently it was as bad as 4 times a day, usually losing service for 20-50 minutes at a time. Now i can't even get service now because i pulled the Sim tray out, and ever since then it says the SIM card message every couple minutes, which never allows me to connect to a tower. Ive tried getting a new SIM and that didnt work. I have tried tape, and I have also gotten a new Sim tray from HTC and that didnt work. I can't update to 4.2.2 cause the phone isnt activated anymore because ive done a factory reset about 4 times already. I tried clicking 'check new' for the update while connected to wifi, but it does nothing. I have nowhere to turn now because i have a verizon phone without a verizon contract, and verizon/htc is directing people to get a replacement, which i cannot afford. Please let me know if you can help, or at least put me in the direction. Thank you in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. markdoc

    markdoc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #118
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    591
    175
    133
    Male
    Retired Dentist
    New York City, NY, USA
    I just had a sim card problem too. Was the new tray exactly the same as the old tray? My new tray that worked, has a stepped projection on the bottom of the tray. (The side that goes in first) If the new tray you got didn't have the projection on the bottom, get another one from HTC that does.
    Good luck.
     
  3. Skipdawg

    Skipdawg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    456
    47
    73
    Male
    US Navy Vet, very retired!
    Washington State
    Happens to me too but not that much though. I am hoping 4.4.2 fixes it when available. I'll grab it via wifi if possible. I have heard 4.4.3 is on the way too with several bug fixes in it.

    I think it is more a bad tray than sim for I have heard of many getting a new sim and same issue still there.

    I can't upgrade till November but considering porting my landline over to a new cell phone soon if it dose get worse.
     
  4. markdoc

    markdoc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #118
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    591
    175
    133
    Male
    Retired Dentist
    New York City, NY, USA
    Try a new tray. Just be sure it has the stepped projection on the bottom edge. I wasn't expecting it to work. Two days
    w/o a problem so far.
     
  5. N9nestein

    N9nestein Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    12
    4
    16
    I've had the same issue. Verizon did nothing but send replacements and new sim cards and then I hit a replacement 'max limit'. I contacted HTC and they've been very helpful surprisingly. They sent me a new sim card tray, worked for about 4 days then the errors came back. I called them and without any issues they sent me a brand new DNA free of charge. So far so good with DNA #10 lol.
     

Share This Page

Loading...