1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Not your everyday "Your SIM card does not allow a connection to this network" problem.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by yukifujita, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. yukifujita

    yukifujita Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    9
    1
    6
    S
    Hey guys!

    So, I can clearly see this "Your SIM card does not allow a connection to this network" problem is quite common around here, so here we go.

    After one year of normal use, I got my problem one day ago, no connection whatsoever since then.

    Tried shutting it down, removing the battery and switching back on after 20 minutes.

    Tried my sim card in another phone - Works fine.
    Tried another sim card, from the same operator, in my phone - Works fine (WTF)

    I then called my operator (it's a Brazilian operator so no matter mentioning it now) and of course, no solution. Payment is fine, everything normal.

    So I wen't to my operator store and replaced the sim and... Still doesn't work!

    I then borrowed a sim from another operator and... Nothing! No signal!


    And just now, I realized that, when I change to "GSM Only" it works! The thing is I have an unlimited 3G plan, and use it a lot, this is not a solution for me.

    I've always used my phone on "WCDMA Only" or "WCDMA Preffered", but when I switch to those, or to anything other than "GSM Only", it dies, no signal, even with GSM Auto...

    I tried hard resetting, nothing helps here... I have no idea what to do next.

    When on WCDMA Only:

    Signal Strength: -71 dBm 21 asu
    GSM Service: Emergency calls only
    GPRS Service: Disconnected
    Network Type : unknown



    I bought the Phone brand new on eBay (or rather a brazilian version called Mercado Livre) and it's clearly from the UK (i can see from its plugs) but it's unbranded and unrooted, but unlocked.


    Also. I heard this may happen with stolen phones, blacklisted IMEI's... How can I figure this out? And how does that explain the fact it works under GSM only?
     

    Advertisement

  2. yukifujita

    yukifujita Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    9
    1
    6
    S
    Just searched my IMEI on different databases, doesn't seem to be stolen.
     
  3. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    Only thing I'm reading into here is that either there is a 3G network issue from your operator so if you have it set to WCDMA only the phone will try and roam to another networks mast and BAM it shuts you out. Either that or your operator has restricted 3g access on your contract. Those are the only two options I can thing of I'm afraid.
     
  4. yukifujita

    yukifujita Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    9
    1
    6
    S
    Not the case, man =/

    I Tried a different sim, with another line, and it worked fine.
    Tried contacting the network op, everything is normal.
     
  5. yukifujita

    yukifujita Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    9
    1
    6
    S
    This is swelling my brain to the point I think it's gonna blow.


    My Phone Sim Card (TIM Network) - Works on any phone, and works in my tablet, but not on my DHD.

    My Tablet Sim Card (VIVO Network) - Works on my phone, and work on my tablet.

    My friend's Sim Card (TIM Network) - Works on his and my phone fine.


    So my DHD will work with ANY but my sim (which was replaced for a brand new today, with the same line)

    And my sim will work with ANY device but my phone.


    Oh my head....
     
  6. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,656
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,656
    230
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    I've heard this problem happen for quite a few Android users. The only fixes (or not) I know of are...

    Turn Aeroplane mode on, then off continuously until you get a 3G signal. If you still don't get connected, take your battery out, wait 15 minutes, put battery back in and it should connect.

    If neither work then I know of nothing more you can do.
     
  7. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
  8. Goreygirl

    Goreygirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    631
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    631
    114
    103
    Female
    Occupational Health Advisor
    Kildare, Ireland
    Hello

    I had a very similar issues about 4 months ago although mine seemed to be location specific in that it happened when I stayed at my sister's. I'd get to certain point on journey to her's and my signal would just disappear. The network provider insisted there were no mast/signal problems. My sim worked in other smart and dumb phones and other sims worked in mine. I got a new sim and that made no difference. At home signal was intermittent but mostly ok. This went on for about 6 weeks and I was on verge of sending my phone back to HTC. As a last resort I backed up all my data, performed a factory reset and then deleted my APN settings and restored the defaults and made sure my signal was set at GSM/WCDMA.

    I'm not sure what specific action worked, if any, but my signal came back and has stayed back :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...