1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Note 3 on MetroPCS?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Joshuah22a, Sep 7, 2013.

  1. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Since this is a thread primarily about the Note 3 itself and not about MetroPCS itself, I've moved this to the Note 3 forum.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    [​IMG]
    this was my second case after the first got SO bad it was literally undressing itself.. this one was after 2 months or so and you can see the bottom part was already getting loose..
     
  3. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    damn, when I get my new note, I'll send the wear on mine, I wont ask for a replacement seeing as how it will be gone shortly
     
  4. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    It should automatically get LTE, its getting AWS HSPA that im not sure what you have to do
     
  5. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    thats what I meant lol
     
  6. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    Its like around 704 at tmobile..but with next activation..
     
  7. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    I got mine for a good deal, just waiting to get my defender case, because this trident case feels cheap compared to my otterbox
     
  8. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    For only using it for 4 hours, its pretty good, not really sure what it does differently in terms of operation compared to my note 2, but its alot faster
     
  9. medwards363

    medwards363 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Hi everyone, new here. I should have my note 3 mid next week so I'm trying to learn all I can here. I am with Metro now currently using the S3 and hope the switch is seamless. I bought a factory unlocked, no region lock version off ebay, hoping I didn't screw myself by getting the wrong one. I got the SM9005
     
  10. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    With the SM-N9005 you won't be able to get LTE and you may not be able to get HSPA in some areas, if you can return the model you bought the model you'd want to get is the SM-N900T (T-Mobile model)
     
  11. medwards363

    medwards363 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Well that sucks, I had a feeling out of the two choices I would be the one to buy the wrong one, nice $650 mistake.....grrrrr
     
  12. Lawkev

    Lawkev Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    69
    1
    16
    My wife has a verizon n3. It was said to be unlocked. She went to metro and was told that it is not. Is there a known problem with the verizon version as far as unlocking goes? If I want to bring a note 3 to metro is it better to get a factory unlocked version or maybe a t mobile version? Will there be any limitations as far a funtionality is concerned if I put it on metro? Will I be able to recieve over the air updates and use all of the features of the phone?

    Edit:

    She got the phone unlocked and metro says she will only have the 1x network.

    Thanks
     
  13. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    ok just making sure! I bought my note 3 and paid it off..this Friday I want to bring it back to metro with my number and I have been calling the reps at metro just to make sure but they have been telling me I have to have the phone unlocked? meaning I have to goto a tmobile store or do it myself online? does tmobile charge? I think doing it online they charge as well? Thanks
     
  14. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    update..i called 3 tmobiles stores and they all told me I have to call customer care...
     
  15. Kat58

    Kat58 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    43
    6
    16
    California
    I have a question that I have been confused about.... If I buy the Note 3 straight from Tmobile do I need for Tmobile to unlock it before I can bring it to Metro?
     
  16. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    from what the metro people said..yes you do..i called t mobile customer care and they told me they will email me an unlock code and I put it on the phone and I guess it would unlock it..then I would put the metro gsm sim card in and call TMOBILE so they can transfer everything over..
     
    Kat58 likes this.
  17. Lawkev

    Lawkev Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    69
    1
    16
    Any answers for me?
     
  18. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Verizon LTE phones come unlocked.

    You can get HSPA+ but LTE would require a simple modification but that needs root

    I'm not sure how to help you with the metro store not adding it. Maybe try another store or buy it online and activate over the phone.
     
  19. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Well,since you have the phone unlocked,you're free to go anywhere the phone is compatible,which is probably very limited (to VZW & regional carriers who use VZW's network).

    Take a trip to METRO & find out for sure,but,I'm 99.999999% sure you should cross METRO off of your list w/this particular phone.

    You can reach MetroPCS at 888-8metro8 or by mail at: MetroPCS Wireless, Inc. PO Box 601119 Dallas, TX 75360


    EDIT:

    NVM,shows what little I know,check out the above post. ;)
     
  20. Quackers

    Quackers Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011

    Oct 18, 2011
    32
    10
    18
    I ordered a metro sim card and went on metro chat when I got it, the guy activated it for me and switched my number over. No unlock needed :)
     
    Lawkev and KOLIO like this.
  21. Lawkev

    Lawkev Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    69
    1
    16
    Metro added her phone and she was told that she only have the 1x network. Where it should say LTE it says H or H+ is that much different than LTE? What is LTE exactly? I can root the phone and do the modification. I can google how to root the phone but can you give me info on how to do the modification?

    I would like to bring my own note 3 to metro. It appears that the t mobile verison will work completely with no issues at all. Can anyone here confirm that? Sorry for being so annoying.

    Thanks
     
  22. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,644
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,644
    3,555
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    LTE explained: 4G Explained: What Is LTE?

    Just understand that the rooting methods for the Note 3 right now are a little foggy, with knox being around and all right now.

    Kingo has been seen to keep your information when you use it to root, so that's out. (supposedly)
     
    Lawkev and KOLIO like this.
  23. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Not being annoying we're here to help :)

    Sometimes the metro workers are kinda misinformed.
    Her note won't have access to the 1x network at all. Only GSM/HSPA & LTE if you choose to do the rooting method.
    This is how you would be able to turn on Band 4 after rooting and get LTE if your area has it. http://androidforums.com/verizon-ga...ot/796420-how-enable-band-4-aws-sm-n900v.html

    The difference between LTE and H+ on Tmobile is that in most areas currently LTE is about 10-20mbps faster
     
    Lawkev and KOLIO like this.
  24. Lawkev

    Lawkev Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    69
    1
    16
    My wife is only paying 40 a month. The told her not to bother with the 60 a month plan because her phone would only be able a access the "1x " network. If I do this modification she will have the LTE network for 40 a month!? We have LTE in Newark, NJ. I see it on my Optimus F6.

    Will I be able to get OTA updates for this Verizon note 3? Maybe by connecting it to a PC or something. My computer is in the shop now so I can't test at the moment.

    Thank You
     
  25. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,644
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,644
    3,555
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    If you flash to a new Carrier then no, carrier updates from Verizon will no longer appear to you.

    Especially considering carriers control when updates go out to your devices. :)

    However, if you are flashing to a carrier that runs on another carrier, like Straight Talk runs on Verizon, then Verizon will still control your OTA updates.
     
    Lawkev likes this.

Samsung Galaxy Note 3

The Samsung Galaxy Note 3 launched in 2012 and was the company's flagship phablet. The device featured a 5.7-inch display with a 1920 x 1080 resolution, 3GB of RAM, 32GB of storage, and a 13MP main camera.

Share This Page

Loading...